We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected”

Margaret Island (Margitsziget)
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.76*
and up
Budapest 'City of Water' Walking Tour including Cruise to Margaret Island
Ranked #23 of 442 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Quiet walkways, flower gardens, romantic ruins and century-old trees make up this popular recreation spot located in the heart of Budapest.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We felt that some parts of the park were sort of tacky where the vendors set up, and not well maintained. We were there on a sunny day in November, and it was delightful to people watch around the huge fountain. At the same time ,although it was peaceful to stroll, we did not find the topography that interesting. Perhaps we are just used to parks with more of a design to them. But if one needs a quiet place to relax
this is probably it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,879
    1,159
    390
    107
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It must be great during Summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was there in November so I was able to enjoy a very quiet walk through the park and admire the autumn colors. I can only imagine how colorful and lively it must be during summer. That's probably the best time to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Long live Margaret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

When you enter the island ,a peacfull and calm atmosphere is wrapping you immediatly. You can stroll peacfully not caring about cars and traffic lights.The island was a big "siesta" after running all over Budapest trieng to catch as much as you can. The musical fountain was terrific!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 320Shula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax after a walking day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We went to Margaret Island after our first walking day on Budapest - actually it was our last stop before returning to the hotel. The musical fountain was great, and it also has a beautiful park with colorful flowers. We could relax and get some rest, and we could get some really tasty snacks on the island. Highly recommended for all the family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Szarastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Unfortunatelly, I have visited Budapest during wintertime, so I haven't seen the entire beauty of the island. Nevertheless, the view is incredible and I really felt relaxed and happy in that natural frame. It is a lovely place to be.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret Island (Margitsziget) also viewed

 

Been to Margaret Island (Margitsziget)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing