We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hire bikes and have fun.”

Margaret Island (Margitsziget)
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.68*
and up
Budapest 'City of Water' Walking Tour including Cruise to Margaret Island
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Bicycle Budapest 4-hour Small Group Excursion with a Historian
More Info
$395.00*
and up
Bicycle Budapest 4-hour Private Excursion with a Historian
Ranked #27 of 467 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Quiet walkways, flower gardens, romantic ruins and century-old trees make up this popular recreation spot located in the heart of Budapest.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hire bikes and have fun.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a couple of hours exploring this tranquil and relaxed island on a 6 seater bike. It has a distinctly holiday feel with Hungarians and tourists alike picnicking, exercising or wandering in the gardens. A perfect, chilled afternoon after a night spent in the ruin bars!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,958
    1,226
    429
    129
    53
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for leisure”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A beautiful peaceful island. The best place to take a stroll and free your mind from worries or what not. It was nice too see people/families walk and jog around. We went there quite late so we didn't get to see the whole island, it was like a huge park! Make sure you have enough time to fully experience what Margaret Island can offer you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Margaret island is a must when you visit Budapest. We were there in November. There are lots to see and do including the outdoor adventure centre and the waterpark. Allot was closed when we visited but we wanted to see Saint Margaret if Hungary' grave, in the old Dominican convent. For us there was only one way to see this island and that on the pedal cars you can rent as you enter the island from the bridge. There are little cars that look like beetles but these are the most expensive. In the same are there are blue peddle cars with red roofs that are easier to cycle and cheaper. For myself and my partner it was less than €5 , 1300 HUF, For an hour. This was enough time to go around the entire island see everything including some parks ponds and a little outdoor cafe. Cycling is a great way to see the Buda Sid elf the city from the island. The bike also have roofs that keep out the rain. Some even have lights for the evenings. You need to leave identification such as a passport with the company to take the bike. We only had a credit card but the woman was very accommodating and allowed us to take the bikes. We had one of the best hours we had in Budapest, full of laughs. There are some great photographs to take if that's what your into. You can get 2 or 4 sweater bikes and each can take 2 small children on the front. Trust me you won't regret this fun day out. If your planing a day out at the park you have to pay for the public toilets, which are immaculately clean. It's 50 censor less and I think the ticket allows you to use them all day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donegalborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Green Space”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Like Central Park in the middle of the Danube. Wonderful Spas, public and private. Medieval ruins, lovely gardens and walking paths. Family entertainment, bike rentals local color. Don't miss it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrierific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat in the middle of the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

An oasis in the middle of the Danube - situated just off the 4/6 tram line, Margaret Island is the place to be on a sunny afternoon in Budapest. It air is fresher, the people are happier, and the kids have places to run away and expend all their wildness. There is something for everyone here: 5k+ rubber running path around the perimeter, parks, pools, picnic areas, sunbathing spots, ruins of a church, musical fountain (which ATM is out of commission), bars, restaruants, cotton candy, bike and other rentals, and lots more. It is a mini retreat still in the city. I totally recommend going (as I myself go every weekend for a run or some sun!)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ctepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret Island (Margitsziget) also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Margaret Island (Margitsziget)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing