We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view. Average food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venhajo-Etterem

Venhajo-Etterem
Ranked #404 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful view. Average food.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is a restaurant located on the Danube River on a boat. The food is good, but it matters less when the atmosphere, scenery and friendliness of the staff is excellent. At least one dinner you have to take here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ionescu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent view, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I chose this restaurant to celebrate my 2 year anniversary with my girlfriend. I think I got it right. Staff was very professional from the start, I booked the table online and told them I wanted to stay inside because I was afraid by the weather (being italian I’m used to hot climate, I was worried about the temperature). I was contacted later by someone of the staff suggesting that we eat on the terrasse with a marvellous view. Unfortunately tha evening was very windy so we then stayed inside but I appreciated the thought. The view was spectacular from the inside too with the chain bridge and the royal palace. It was great to eat on the danube. Service was super fast and food was great. I tried a selection of Foie Gras which was amazing. My girlfriend took some dumplings with beef which were brilliant too. I had a really nice time on this boat, I liked the atmosphere and the food and if I ever come back to Budapest I will definitively come back to this restaurant too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unholywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like a dream”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The title says it all. The location is awesome, the view likewise. Basically, you are on a boat, on the Danube, surrounded by citadels, palaces, churches, bridges, good music and an excellent Eger wine.
Getting to the best part: the food. Just fantastic! I've had a traditional goose liver, with dried figs. I loved it. I just didn't want it to end. Best thing I had in a while...if not quite the best ever.
My friends had lamb, duck, chicken and salmon. They were all impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atypoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, Wonderful enviroment”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was just good without any surprises, wines indifferent but service was excellent and the views superb. Very romantic and all that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanPerez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss it”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Restaurant Venhajo is one of the best restaurant i have ever been in. It is set on the bank of Danube river on an old boat retrofited as restaurant. The service is excelent with highly profesional waitors. My girlfriend and I ate hungarian gulash and tuna stake for main course. Meals are quite large and of excelent quality. Price for two people diner is quite cheep considering quality of food and general refinment of the place. I think there is no beter place to visit in Budapest if you want to have a romantic evening with your better half, while enjoing some of the best prepared food you will ever taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venhajo-Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Venhajo-Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing