We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guide for your tour of Budapest!”

Travel Guide Hungary
Ranked #4 of 75 Food & Drink in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer Personalized private tours in Budapest and the Hungarian countryside. It can be a walking tour or a car based tour, a basic city tour or we can focus on history, gastronomy, architecture - depending on your interest. If you want I can take you to the countryside, we can explore one of the Hungarian wine regions, visit castles, etc. Come and tour with us if you would like to see not only the sights which are listen in guidebooks, but also the hidden treasures of my country and it's famous capital. Explore Budapest/ Hungary with a local!
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great guide for your tour of Budapest!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We highly recommend Orsolya as a tour guide. She is very knowledgeable about her hometown, including its history and it's current day events. She is punctual, friendly, energetic, and very passionate about Budapest. She definitely helped to make our visit to Budapest that much more enjoyable and memorable! The 4 hour walking tour she offers is very reasonably priced and worth every penny! Or should I say forint!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Memorable Day in Budapest”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Orsolya took my wife and I on a full day's walking tour (8 hours) of Budapest on a beautiful Sunday, September 29, 2013. She met us at our hotel in central Pest and we proceeded leisurely (we're not young) on foot for a mile or so, as she explained every sight along the way. Then she called a taxi and we crossed the Danube to the Buda side and proceeded up to Castle Hill, working our way up the river to Fisherman's Bastion, where she took us to a touristy but very good restaurant with an imposing view of the city (see photo). We had a light lunch, and I got to sample an excellent (but inexpensive) Hungarian wine. We took the funicular back down the hill and crossed the bridge to Pest where we spent the rest of the day wandering from place to place. What was unique is that we went wherever we wished, at our own pace, with expert guidance on what to see, and it was interpreted by a very talented historian who made it exceptionally interesting. If we needed a cab, she called one. If we needed a tram, she knew which one and where to get the tickets. We ended the day at the opera house, where she had previously worked and was able to take us on a special insider's tour. The best part of all this was Orsolya herself. She is an enthusiastic, personable, and completely professional guide. What did it cost? Not nearly it was worth.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great private guide in Budapest”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked Magdi Pelech for private tours with a car and driver to show us Buda one morning and Pest the next morning. Since Budapest is so spread out, I recommend using a guide with a car and driver. Magdi is a licensed private guide and speaks excellent English. She will modify the tour to see exactly what you want. She knows so much about the interesting history of the city, making the tour one of the best we've ever taken in Europe. You can book her services at magdi.pelech@gmail.com . We went in mid-September which is a very busy time in Budapest, so we were very glad we booked her in advance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable guide and courteous driver for 4 hours in Budapest.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely 4 hour personal tour with Melinda and Emerich. They were able to accommodate us on relatively short notice and make a last minute extension because we wanted to extend our day by an hour. Highly recommended from an avid walker because sights are very far apart and parking is difficult. My only wish is that we had booked another day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MLB19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Budapest tour guide Orsoyla”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our tour guide in Budapest was Orsoyla Moravai. We found her through Trip Advisor and corresponded via email several times prior to our trip. We had some concerns: We only had 24 hours in Budapest. We wanted her to customize an afternoon tour for us that would fill in any spaces left by our morning tour provided through our river cruise company. Also, there were five in our party which included our 98 year old Mother who would be in a wheelchair.
After "Orsi" found out what,our morning tour consisted of, she planned our afternoon tour. The Opera House on Andrassy Ave, St. Stephen's Basilica, The Great Market Hall, and The Liberty Statue on Gellert Hill. The four venues were perfect and made our overview of Budapest complete.
Orsi met us after lunch at our ship with her driver and a van. The van she provided was spacious and comfortable for all 7 of us.
At the Opera House, Orsi arranged to take us on a private tour. She even gained access to a non-public elevator for our Mother. Orsi has a wealth of knowledge about the Opera House and shared it with us in a most entertaining way.
We enjoyed The Great Market Hall and seeing the variety of products of Hungary. It is a wonderful place to shop for gifts to bring home. She arranged for a taste testing of Hungarian sausages from the meat market which the men in our group enjoyed especially.
St. Stephen's Basilica is a magnificent church. It was closed for a special private concert, but seeing the outer areas of the church was appreciated.
The Liberty Statue is worth the trip up Gellert Hill. From that spot you get a panoramic view of the two cities, especially Pest. It is also a great place for a photo shoot. We have wonderful pictures that Orsi took of us with Budapest in the background.
Orsoyla has lived her whole life in Budapest. She has the background information and passion for sharing the beauty of her city to make her an excellent guide. She is warm, friendly, energetic and knowledgeable. The afternoon spent with her was delightful. She was one of the best guides on our whole Danube River cruise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kdenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travel Guide Hungary also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Travel Guide Hungary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing