We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and great value”
Review of Tiger Tim's Place

Tiger Tim's Place
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiger Tim's Place
Ranked #116 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the private apartments and we were pleasantly surprised at the size and the quality of the room. When we checked in Tim gave us a map and highlighted the best sites, restaurants and bars. He was extremely helpful. Apartment had fully equipped kitchen although no washing machine.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SineNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed during 2012 and returned for New year 2013. Both amazing stays and couldn't have wanted more. Tiger Tim gave us good recommendations both trips and was always on hand to help. Great location and great for meeting new people to party with.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank EmmaMarie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fantastic spot to party with other travelers or for a good nights sleep,Tim and his staff gives you advice on all the activities of the day when you arrive at the hostel and recommends places to eat and to visit and takes you out to explore the city by night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stumbled across Tiger Tim's due to a booking error elsewhere but really glad we did so! Tim, the hostel owner, welcomed every guest into to the hostel as though it were his home. The relaxed atmosphere meant guests came as strangers and left as friends. Tim knows how to have fun and organised lots of events for guests, complete with pre-drinks and drinking games. For the less wild however, the hostel remained a quiet place after 10pm-ish. Tim knew all the top attractions in Budapest, gave an informative welcome chat and was able to book tickets (e.g. spas / clubnights) at the best prices (but there was no sales pressure). This very clean and modern hostel has plenty of showering facilities and toilets, a communal kitchen with cooking equipment, a lounge complete with TV and films, free safes and WiFi. Great location- all attractions are walkable. We had the best stay at Tiger Tim's and couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemv1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were so lucky to come across Tiger Tim's, as soon as we arrived they welcomed us to our rooms and sat us down, showing us the best places to go in Budapest. The atmosphere was so friendly, and everybody staying at the hostel became friends, all going out together each night. The location is ideal, right next to tube, train and trams. Plus, its in easy walking distance of all the top sights, restaurants and clubs/bars.
The rooms are very secure, with locks on the doors, and then individual safes. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are in a clean condition.
I couldn't recommend staying at this hostel more, it will enable you to have the best experience of a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzzH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was a fantastic hostel, really welcoming, kind helpful and fun.
On arrival we were shown to our rooms, and shown how to use the combination safes that we all got, so we could keep our money and passports safe.
After that we were given a map and had a small talk through all the best parts of Budapest and where to see them, for example the ruin bars, the free tours location and the Turkish baths.
The owner of the hostel is great, he would rally everyone up and play drinking games with us.
There is also a big hard drive full of films and t.v. programmers, and you also have access to a laptop with internet all for free.
Overall this is a great hostel, especially if you want to meet people and have a good night out, but you can also have an evening in and watch one of the thousands of films.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staying at Tiger Tim's hostel without a doubt made our stay in Budapest, and even our entire trip, such a wonderful, memorable trip. It is a friendly, warm, homely hostel which is incredibly welcoming and in a fantastic location shops, transport, nights out and city attractions.

On arrival we were given an idea of the best places to visit whilst we were in Budapest (this is standard for everyone), all these places were well worth a visit and shaped our stay in Budapest. There is a kitchen to cook meals in, a communal table to eat, talk and later if you are so inclined, drink.
They will also give you an idea of where to go out in Budapest, and will even take you out with others in the hostel if you wish.
The hostel is quiet past 10-10.30pm, which is perfect if you want to take a night off or are not much of a partier.
The rooms are secure, with safes to which you can set your own password and passwords into each of the rooms.
The beds are comfortable and clean, as is the rest of the hostel and the showers are powerful and warm.
I cannot recommend this hostel enough, it is a perfect temporary 'home' where you can make friends with other people, sleep well and explore Budapest from a great, central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,201 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#104 of 335 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,509 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,377 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Tim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Tim's Place

Address: Terez koerut 58, Budapest 1066, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing