We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and great accommodation! Would recommend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Animation City Hostel
Ranked #147 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly staff and great accommodation! Would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before arriving, I received an email from Viktoria, giving me clear directions to the hostel, thus there was no problem finding it (there's no sign so you have to find it by the street and building number). As it was our first time in Budapest, Viktoria recommended a few tourist attraction, to which we really enjoyed. We could communicate well as she was fluent in English. The place was really neat and tidy as well. They stored our baggage for us as well when we checked out the last day FOC. Really enjoyed my 2 nights stay, felt like home! Well worth what we paid and definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kee Aik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great! Hostel has perfect location. Stuff are nice, kind and polite and will always answer to you on all your questions and help you to have nice staying. It is clean. Kitchen has all equipment. I stay there ten days and i don't have any bad word.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vesna_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a small scale (16 beds) hostel in the centre of Budapest. The place opened in the summer of 2011 and therefore everything is brandnew, modern and clean. The staff is young and friendly. The place is (not yet) easy to find though and the front door does not look very inviting, but it deserves your visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikWw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was lucky to find this new hostel (opened only several months ago) and very happy to stay there with my parents for 5 days. The staff is very attentive, I received a letter addressing me personally and explaining some useful details just after reserving the room on “booking.com”. Everybody was very friendly and helpful (they immediately supplied us with extra towels, hairdryers and folding clothes dryer when we got completely wet under a strong rain on the first evening; getting extra keys or printing out our boarding passes made no problem). The hostel is located in the very center of Pest, close to the most beautiful places of the city and has metro and other transport connections nearby. It occupies a spacious flat on the high second floor (with lift), there are about 7 rooms of different size, two bathrooms (one with bath the other with shower), kitchen with all necessary kitchen equipment and accessories, free computer in the corridor and perfectly working Wi-Fi everywhere. All windows face a small street, so it is very quiet in the rooms. There are several maps and leaflets for free, describing possible tourist facilities in the city, and everybody is eager to explain you how to get to the place you need. I am very grateful to the hostess and her colleagues for making our stay so convenient. (I would even say that they overdo with hospitality and do not save themselves.) So I am already recommending all my friends and acquaintances to stay at this place when visiting Budapest. And I most sincerely wish prosperity to the hostel and to the kind people working there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ideal location. Very friendly and attentive English speaking staff. Super clean. WiFi works perfectly.
Just a little hard to find. Look for a door without signs and press on the bell button with words "animation city hostel"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel is in an excellent location in Pest, right in the heart of the city centre. The hostel itself was very clean, the staff were very friendly and gave us some excellent tips for places to see and things to do. Other facilities such as the kitchen were excellent, and there is also free wi-fi and a computer for the residents to use. As others have said, there are only two bathrooms so if both are occupied you may have to wait, but it wasn't too much of a problem for us. I would stay here again if I came back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radioshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hi, Travellers , I got to told you good news!
Hostel is location at near metro and around here have non stop market.
Rooms and Kitchen and WC are very clean.
The most important is the staff very friendly, they will do the best for you!

If you don't believe, just come ! You will know it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shihtan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hostel California Vaci Street
Hostel California Vaci Street
#286 of 658 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
District V / Inner City
Best Choice Hostel
Best Choice Hostel
#89 of 658 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
District V / Inner City
Katona Apartments
Katona Apartments
#8 of 658 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Animation City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Animation City Hostel

Property: Animation City Hostel
Address: Haris koez 2., Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Animation City Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Animation City Hostel is a brand new property int he historical center of Budapest. Located only a few steps away from the famous pedestrian street of Váci utca, the beautiful Danube bend, and the Synagogue, which is the biggest one in Europe. Our accomodation is a cozy, lovely and youthful hidden gem in the downtown. We provide 6 tastefully designed rooms, which are able to host a total of 10 people. Public computers and a fully equipped kitchen is available for our guests comfort. Tea and coffee making facilities are free of charge during the stay. To feel at home we ensure a small public area with flatscreen TV, and comfortable sofas to have rest after a busy day in the city! The staff is on hand at any time of a day 0-24 to help you with questions and advices. Ticket- and restaurant reservations are available on request, guided city tours can be arranged. Breakfast is available on-demand at Café Bali restaurant, only a minute from Animation City Hostel. (Pets are welcome – additional fee is possible.) Superb, professional dental services in the apartment building. Our hostel awaits all those looking for a happy, family-friendly, accommodation in the heart of Budapest with a well knowledge staff who is ready to give you all information about the life of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Animation City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing