We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly atmosphere with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bocadillo Astoria

Bocadillo Astoria
Ranked #531 of 3,089 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Healthy, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, friendly atmosphere with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went here on an unseasonably cold day and had a lovely meal in the glass terrace which was lovely and warm. The food was great and a big bowl of pasta was just what we needed. Enjoyed a tea/latte afterwards. Pleasant visit with very friendly staff. Would definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jt2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_bocadillo, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bocadillo Astoria, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear jt2500,

It makes us happy to read that we could give you shelter from the cold! We are glad that we had just the right dishes and drinks to warm you up, and that you somewhat warmed up to us too!

Thank you for sharing your opinion!

Kind Regards,

The Bocadillo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    117
    45
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and honest service. Tips are included.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Delightful little place and we found the food to be very tasty. It was quite full which is always a good indicator for us and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and after handing them what we thought was the right amount they came back with change (quite a bit) and then again with coins. That is always comforting to us tourists to know we are not taken advantage of. Thank You Fellows - it was a fun lunch.
From: 5 Happy Canadians

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shwagirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_bocadillo, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Bocadillo Astoria, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear shwagirl46,

We are happy that you and your companions had a great time here with us! We put great emphasis on clarity, as the trust of guests is easy to lose but very difficult to gain, and we are glad that we could prove ourselves to you!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again!


With Kind Regards,



The Bocadillo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I recommend!Very good meal and friendly stuff!!!!Synagogue near the beautiful terrace restaurant that is not only attractive but also family friendly. thank you very much that I could be their guest!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank like b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_bocadillo, Guest Relations Manager at Bocadillo Astoria, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear like b,

Thank you very much for your praising words! It is very good to hear that you had a great time with us. I will certainly pass your appreciation to our chef.
I look forward to another occasion, when we can provide you and your family the same quality!

Kind regards,
Bocadillo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

A couple of blocks from the main shopping and restaurant area, but well worth the walk. Nice outdoor eating area. The Goulash soup was great. The salads were also quite good. My wife had the tuna salad (mixed greens with olives, tuna, etc.). The prices were very reasonable and less expensive than the places in the central shopping district. Good friendly service. So enjoyable that we went back for a second meal. Try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UWJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food but poor staff service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

They have nice terrace for all outside eating lovers, but their staff is so unpleasent and unkind that made me never go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaMNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillo Astoria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bocadillo Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing