We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melange with Honey!”
Review of Bocadillo Astoria

Bocadillo Astoria
Ranked #593 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Melange with Honey!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wonderful food and drinks! First day in Budapest and we needed a place to eat after a long morning. Nice attentive staff, with the option to sit inside in the wintergarden or outside. Food was good as well and definitely a good price relation. What's to try is the melange with honey! Really amazing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonygarou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    117
    45
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on our way to the airport at the end of our trip and were very impressed. The waiter was almost too attentive until a few more customers showed up. Ham and eggs and bacon and eggs were both very good and the breakfast menus were inexpensive. The best part was my hot chocolate. It was very thick and creamy, almost a warm chocolate mousse, and topped with plenty of fresh whipped cream.

Since the prices were so reasonable and the food was tasty, we also got sandwiches to go for lunch instead of buying food at the airport, which was a great choice. And when we decided we had an extra few minutes, we also split a piece of their freshly made cheesecake for dessert which was also excellent.

The only initially off putting thing was that our waiter was typing on his phone while talking to us and taking our order...but once we figured out that that was how he recorded and sent in our orders and got details from the kitchen, like which sandwiches they still had available, it just seemed very clever and it definitely added to the efficient service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsysc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Really not up to scratch...”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Maybe we were just unlucky, who knows. We ended up at the Bocadillo Cafe as we had been let down by another restaurant and wanted to find somewhere close to our accomodation as it was getting late and places were filling up. This restaurant looked promising with an inviting outdoor seating area. We ordered some wine which was very nice and awaited our veggie paella. Having an authentic Spanish restaurant close to where I live, which serves a fantastic vegetarian paella, perhaps raised my expectations a little. However when the food arrived we were sorely disappointed. All I could really taste was salt and saffron; the vegetables had no taste at all and the whole thing was so unpalatable that neither of us could nearly finish the dish. Maybe the meat or fish dishes are better, but if you are looking for vegetarian food in Budapest, look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cozy dining place”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

cozy place to enjoy your dinner. Go there during evening hours, when candles are lightened and Jazz music is played. Buy your ice cream after your dinner around the corner!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GroenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the very few downtown places I'd recommend”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

So, in Budapest, restaurant owners seem to have this hobby of selling awful, "traditional Hungarian" food at horrific prices. Not this place. With a lovely terrace right in the middle of the city, they offer delicious Mediterranean food at more than reasonable prices. Tricky thing is that they are selling salads or piadinas for around 1600 HUF each, but, if you have them in menu, with soup and lemonade (and you choose the salad or the piadina instead of the main dish, you can get them for 1200 HUF. Tasty and healthy food, which comes in generous portions. Perfect for either a business lunch, but also acceptable if you come alone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nattakiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocadillo Astoria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Bocadillo Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing