We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel for larger groups” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bazar Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bazar Hostel
Ranked #49 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great hostel for larger groups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The incredible thing about this hostel was the fact we rented the entire place for our trip with 50 students. That's really the best thing to do I think. Bazar Hostel is like a house. It has a living room with an open kitchen and a couple of bed- and bathrooms. We felt like one big family. The location of the hostel is great, the area has a lot of good places to eat, drink, or go out. I'll reconsider going back here the next time I'm in Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    60
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
17
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was in Room 3 which was a 6 bed mixed dorm. All rooms are on one level. The people i shared with were nice. The room was average, one big locker each for all your things, 6 bunkbeds, the toilet and shower facilities were shared with the other rooms. Two really good showers too! The room itself was on the corner of a junction which was quite noisy in the morning and the room was hot and stuffy, no air currents came in so next time I would try a different room, but would definitely stay here again. The kitchen facilities were excellent, everything you would need and a really good vibe too as there is a communal area to sit around, use the wifi PC's and have a meal. Staff really helpful too. You get given the code for the main door downstairs so it's easy to come and go whatever time you want.

Room Tip: The mixed dorms are good, i was lucky to share with respectful people. Just take ear plugs if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamBullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice staff, very helpful and kind. Hostel was very clean and organized, including the bathroom. Nice shower, but it was a little difficult to find the light (i don't know if the lamp bulb was not working).
Excellent location - close to Szimpla, one of the must-go bars in Budapest.
Staff indicated nice places to go out, eat and visit.
Totally recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renatanduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopron, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent only 1 night there, but it was an excellent stay. The guests, the atmosphere and the staff were first class. I really recommend this hostel those who'd like to spend a few nights in an inspirating place like this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFKSopron_Hungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this Hostel for 3 nights, and I really liked it. It is a small but cozy place and it really made me feel like home! The whole staff was very kind and helpful and the room was very comfortable as well. I'll just give it a 4 star rating 'cause showers were kinda far from my bedroom and there was no breakfast at the hostel, although there was a supermarket with great food 50m away from it.

Besides it, it's a great place to stay, not far from the city main sights and also not far from Keleti Station (15minutes walk)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff! So helpful and kind. Clean and central location. Accomodating and great stay. Good food and nightlife nearby and access to public transport. They have a kitchen, good wifi, free coffee and tea, and lots of city info ! Stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Gracekg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We slept 3 nights in this hostel, and after one hour we already felt like beeing at home! The athmosphere is realy good and people very helpfull!!!
The only point why I didn't rate it "excellent" is because of the water wich is not allways really hot enough for a good shower in winter!
I would deffinitely comme back!!

p.s: it's lockated near the Simplaz, what's a real advantage!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiewist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Avenue Hostel
#25 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amazing Hostel
Amazing Hostel
#72 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#26 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Loft Hostel Budapest
The Loft Hostel Budapest
#41 of 651 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
The Groove
#74 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazar Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazar Hostel

Property: Bazar Hostel
Address: Dohany utca 22-24, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Bazar Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing