We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend Trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elit
Ranked #39 of 183 Budapest B&B and Inns
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a wonderful weekend trip to Budapest, and found the hotel through booking.com due to it's good reviews and close location to the Keleti Train station. It's only a 5 minute walk from the station (at the moment there were many constructions so it took a little longer), and it was very simple to go through the bar to the reception.
It's a sweet little hotel, and since it's only two floors I haven't seen the reason for a lift. The rooms are clean and spacious for their price. And the whole staff was very friendly and welcoming the whole time. The breakfast also offers everything from coffee, tea, warm eggs, sausages, cereal, bread and local cold cuts.
It's a 5 to 10 minute walk to the next metro Station, and about 30 minute walk down to the Danube. Close by to the hotel are Tesco and Spar Supermarket, as also several places to go out for dinner.
Definitely would come again a second time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonygarou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
20
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed here for 5 nights and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It's a decent 20/25 min walk from the river but only about 10/15minutes away from all the ruin bars and is on a main road so we all felt quite safe walking about at night.
Very close to the local metro station and the bus stop is right opposite the hotel.
Rooms were lovely although not cleaned everyday. The bar had really good prices and I never felt uncomfortable walking through the bar to get up to my room. Lattes are very nice in the hotel :) The staff are so polite and helpful, we got some good tips off them and they were always very friendly.
They really need to get a lift! The stairs can get quite tiring with a lot of suitcases so if you need step-free access this probably isn't the place for you.
All in all I'd recommend this hotel, it's a nice place with really great sized rooms.

Room Tip: Room 19 doesn't have AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for four nights, it was my first trip to Budapest, and did not quite know what to expect. Overall the hotel was quite good, the only reason I wouldn't give it an excellent was the location, being that it was about a twenty minute walk to the Danube, but other than that it was great. The rooms were extremely clean and rather large considering the price. The hotel bar and cafe was nice with competitive pricing compared to some of the bars near the city centre. The staff was quite helpful and will arrange a taxi for you, which is almost a must if you are traveling to the airport. The hotel is close to the Kelelti station which is good news if you are taking the train. This place was a very comfortable place to stay and I will be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kraig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

With changes made to the rooms most recently made staying at the hotel visually pleasant, a rustic feel to the bar (a good thing) made you feel you were in the NY or London! However, the best part about our stay was assistance, service and communication that Roberto gave my friends and I. His knowledge of the city is second to none and that advise was very good indeed.

Location of the Hotel is 10-15 mins walks from the inner city and another 10-15 thereafter tot he river (one straight line of walking). With the hotel being situated on the main road of Rakoczi it was very easy to either get a cab or public transport.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very clean and aesthetically pleasing, excellent facilities and an AWESOME shower in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great Location. Large & clean room. The advantaje from my point of viwe is that, first, you enter in a small bar, and after that you can find the reception. It's a good way to make sure that you won't have a bad surprize.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my 3rd stay in the Elit and it hasnt let me down yet. Its very good value for money with large clean rooms. It is in a good location with everything you need within easy walking distance. The staff are exceptionally helpful without the stiffness of the western Euopean hotels. I came for dental treatment but was working as usual on my computer whilst here. The broadband is quick and presented no problems for VOIP calls. Tour buses and normal bus transport is within 50m but despite being in a fairly busy location I have slept like a baby. If you want 5 star opulence at 2 star prices look elsewhere, but if you want good value for money look no further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertmiles1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First, the hotel is located in a bar. You walk into the bar, walk towards the back & there is the reception desk. Not elevator. Room is semi dark with artificial light. The pictures you see where the light looks yellow & dingy is an appropriate review of what to expect. Rooms were mostly clean, though there was a ball of chewed gum on top of the bed frame. Mattress was thin & I hate when hotels only give 1 flat pillow to sleep on. We were 2 friends traveling together & we asked for 2 beds, but we got 2 single beds pushed together....Bathroom was a little small, there were 2 few towels for us. The shower was roomy but the drain clogged. And there was free Internet. I would have chosen something better, but I find the pictures misleading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Planet Holiday Apartments
#162 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
No photo provided
Baross City Hotel
#142 of 335 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Esprit Hotel
#14 of 183 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Garay Terrace Residence
Garay Terrace Residence
#19 of 183 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Centrooms House
Centrooms House
#29 of 183 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Far Home Apartments
#48 of 183 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elit

Property: Hotel Elit
Address: Rakoczi ut 67., Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elit 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elit is situated in the downtown centre of Budapest 200 meters from the international train station. We are waiting our guest with beautiful large rooms, rich buffet breakfast and fair prices. Great choice of restaurants, sightseeing and other programmes are available at our friendly Hotel. We offer the best quality/price ratio in the area. Hope to see You soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Elit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing