We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant away from the tourist spots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sophia's Piano Cafe - CLOSED

Sophia's Piano Cafe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little restaurant away from the tourist spots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a really good meal here for the price - the food was very tasty and well presented and the service attentive. Although it doesn't look particularly attractive from the outside, the outside seating is nice enough and you can enjoy a view of the Danube (unless there is a parked car obstructing it!). The menu is small (also in English) and the food was served quickly with a good wine selection. Would recommend if you want to get away from the tourist trap restaurants in Pest!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jto_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nice little restaurant with beautiful view over the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

When sitting outside the view over the river was great. The staff was very friendly. It's not the most beautiful or stunning restaurant in Budapest but when you like a nice modest restaurant with good food and a nice price then this is a good place to visit. If I am in Budapest again I will certainly return

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relax in comfortable piano cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Right on the Danube Embankment, close to Hotel Victoria and Art Hotel, with lovely views if you eat outside. Inside, the surroundings are more cosy and a wonderful piano-player entertains and plays requests.
It was a quiet eveing when we went due to the European Football games taking place. We ended the evening alone with the pianist, playing just for us, and singing along with us.
Food and service were very good. This is a neat little restaurant and well worth a visit,

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickey-plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
248 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“helpful staff but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

food wasn't really up to standard. the waitress didn't speak any english but the chef was really nice and friendly, he came out of the kitchen to help us with the menu.
my friend thought goulash was bit lighter than he thought it should be. they didn't have any vegetarian soups so i was given garlic cream soup, not bad but too much liquid!
*i don't think it's called sohpie! the menu says sophia!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Piano Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing