We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in an Icebar”
Review of Icebar Budapest

Icebar Budapest
Ranked #69 of 194 Nightlife in Budapest
Attraction details
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Time in an Icebar”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Its pretty expensive, but its something everyone should check out at least once. We went in on a quiet night, so there was room to stand and take a few pictures. We got the drinks that came with our package, and that was about it. Its pretty much a large walk in freezer with a few ice sculptures and fake ice lining the walls. If over 8 people were in there at the same time, it would probably be cramped. They play some club like music that wasnt horrible. You wouldnt really buy more drinks or spend any length of time in there, as there just isnt much to do. Overall, I was glad to see what the fuss was all about, but I definitely wouldnt pay that kind of money to go in there twice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyAirborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    110
    132
    79
    91
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great first visit to an Ice Bar!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I booked tickets to visit this bar on the internet for me and my sister, which included 2 alcholic/non-alcoholic cocktails each. We went on a Sunday night in March and there were only 3 other people in there with us which left plenty of space for us all to take photos.

I think it was great, they were playing the track 'Barbara Streisand' by Duck sauce but changed the words to 'Icebar Budapest'. Overall I felt that this was a great bar, we stayed for around 30 minutes and both enjoyed it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MexicoPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We decided to go into the Ice Bar as it was something we had not done before or was likely to go again.

Great place to go for an hours fun drink. The entry price includes shots, alcoholic or not depending on your preference, which you choose from the menu on the wall.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very different”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This was my first time in an ice bar but it was very cool as long as you drink quick! There was no one else except us and the barman but we took a few cool photos and threw back our drinks! Prices aren't bad but beware, the drinks are tiny! Worth a 15 minute stop to check it out!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We were happy to have tried, but can't disagree with other reviewers!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

It was smaller than we expected and, so, it's not really worth the money to have the ice glasses and fancier cocktails. The ponchos and gloves are bulky and awkward so it just makes holding your drink even more difficult.. We'd have been happier with a cheaper drink as we weren't in any way inclined to stay very long.

That said, the sculptures and detailed artworks are fantastic, and created by an award winning ice sculptor. We had fun taking photos and watching other couples and visitors going through the same rigmarole of freeing a gloved hand to manage the camera. Not a problem for the group of guys however, who were brave enough (or stupid) to enter in their underwear.

We'd recommend only to those who have never had a similar experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icebar Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Icebar Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing