We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good.”
Review of Hipster Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hipster Hostel
Ranked #152 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
2 reviews
“Very good.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's hard to think anything bad to say about this place. The service was kind and fast, location absolutely great with the metro station and the centre near, staff very friendly, helpful and always there. The rooms were clean and had all the necessities you need in a hostel. The only thing I missed was the air-conditioning, since it's quite hot in summer in Budapest, but all in all very good hostel and you should definitely visit it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murtumispiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
25
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If the kitchen were slightly bigger and lighter (at least a stronger light bulb, please), this hostel could be easily called a home-from-home.

The location is perfect. It's absolutely central and if you are self-catering, you will appreciate the fact that you are only a tramstop away from the market hall.

The staff were forthcoming and the rooms and facilities clean.

The best thing about the hostel for us was the layout of the 10-bed dorm. It is laid out in 2 levels and includes three double beds / mattresses which we hadn't seen in a hostel dorm room before and found great. We have never experienced more privacy in a dorm than at the Hipster.

It's a pity that the kitchen is rather small (4 chairs at the table and a sofa) and dark. The common room is airy and light, but also serves as a reception and they also dry linen here which makes the stay here a bit less than perfect.

All in all, however, staying here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You just can't pick a better location: right by a major metro station and very near to the National Museum. Walk five minutes toward the city center and you'll encounter dozens of wonderful sidewalk cafes, restaurants, bars and clubs. The staff is friendly and helpful, the wifi fast and reliable, beds in the room I stayed in were thankfully not bunk beds, and there's a large kitchen if you're planning to prepare your own food. And fear not for there are large storage lockers that managed to fit both my backpack and my large backpacking backpack while I was out in the city. The other travelers were in large groups, so unfortunately I didn't get a chance to connect with any of them, but this was probably just bad luck and not the norm at this hostel. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-merry-wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have booked the double room with bathroom for our stay in Budapest a long time before our trip. Then, only three days before the flight, the hostel told us that they missed (!) our reservation and already gave away the room and that they are sorry. They offered to relocate us to a place of much lower quality and suddenly we were "out on the street" before even getting to Budapest. Eventually we had to find another place by ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hostel is located on the walking part of the street, so it is quite here. Additionally there are a lot of restaraunts and shops nearly. Girls on receptions were very friendly and pleasant. In the morning of our departure Sophie kindly helps to resolve some troubles with check-in on flight online.
HoneyMoon suit is very nice and clean. Large kitchen allows you to have a lunch with a big company of neighbours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlebKobets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Plus that they loved my dog. The theme is a mustache, don't know why. Hostel was very clean. Large kitchen and grocery nearby for those who choose to prepare their own food. Wifi is exceptionally strong, better than most hostels. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
383 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the bedroom, it was warm during the cold winter and very comfortable to sleep. They provided bed for guests instead of bunkbed which is cool. It was really compare to the quality of the hostel. Very close to metro station so everything was close.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budapest Centrum
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
HoBar - the hostel bar
HoBar - the hostel bar
#147 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hello Budapest Hostel
Hello Budapest Hostel
#87 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandala Hostel
Mandala Hostel
#89 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hostel
Avenue Hostel
#33 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rabbit Hostel
White Rabbit Hostel
#168 of 641 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipster Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipster Hostel

Property: Hipster Hostel
Address: Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipster Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name speaks for itself: fancy, brand new hostel in the heart of Budapest, in a pedestrian street, in a student area, 50m from metro/tram/bus, cafes-bars-restaurants all around, freshly DIY decorated accommodation especially for all travelers' needs. Hipster has 4 different types of accommodation, all done in a hot do-it-yourself spirit: rn1. POLKA DOTS ROOM: a giant mezzanine with double beds on the upper side (2 separated double beds), and a double bed and 4 simple beds for groups on the lower part. rn2. MAGENTA FEVER ROOM: stylish black bunk beds for 6 persons with a pinch of magenta touchrn3. CANDY ROOM: a smaller mezzanine with one double bed on the upper and another one on the lower part,. HONEYMOON SUITE: for couples in love, with private bathroom and private entrance.The hostel speaks English, French, Spanish, Brazil, Portuguese, German... Wants to learn Polish, Russian, Chinese Mandarin, Japanese :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hipster Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing