We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hipster Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hipster Hostel
Ranked #148 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfy hostel”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hostel is located on the walking part of the street, so it is quite here. Additionally there are a lot of restaraunts and shops nearly. Girls on receptions were very friendly and pleasant. In the morning of our departure Sophie kindly helps to resolve some troubles with check-in on flight online.
HoneyMoon suit is very nice and clean. Large kitchen allows you to have a lunch with a big company of neighbours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlebKobets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
25
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Plus that they loved my dog. The theme is a mustache, don't know why. Hostel was very clean. Large kitchen and grocery nearby for those who choose to prepare their own food. Wifi is exceptionally strong, better than most hostels. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
358 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the bedroom, it was warm during the cold winter and very comfortable to sleep. They provided bed for guests instead of bunkbed which is cool. It was really compare to the quality of the hostel. Very close to metro station so everything was close.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you're in Budapest, stay here. Cannot beat the service, the friendly staff. Everything is clean and the beds are comfy. Laundry available in the Hostel along with a great big tub for after those long walk days.
Cannot say enough good things about the staff. Friendly is an understatement. While I was there they held a cooking class and were always willing and ready to provide tips and suggestions. Great conversation.
I was really surprised at how quiet this Hostel is, the rooms are large but it is very quiet at night.
The kitchen is great (do your dishes!) with large fridge (label your food!) and chocolate (most important).
Excellent deal for the price too, close to banks, central transit, shopping, brilliant restaurants close by, good coffee shop a hairpin corner away, within walking distance to the Grand Market, Danube and various museums. Transit distance to Aquinum Roman ruins, baths etc.

Super awesome hostel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!! Everything is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I often visit Bp (as part of my budgeteurotrip.com tour) and I stayed twice at hipster hostel for several reasons: location is very good, close to the kalvin metro station and downtown so that is not needed to pay for public transportation to get around; the dorm room is clean and spacious (I stayed at the 10 beds one); staff is very friendly and easy going; Kitchen and common spaces are clean. Only minus was the poor internet connection. I hope it was only a temporary issue

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budgeteurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we were there with two little kids. I was afraid a little bit of quality because of kids age (1,5 and 3 YO) but it was great. superb staff, kind and friendly. nice hostel, very clean- cleaned every day. nice international people. despite of their young age, very quiet even in night. great localisation. near the metro station. walk distance to riverside, to Gellert hill and to the city center. I can say it is the best hostel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was staying in Hipster with 2 friends. Everything was great. Hostel is clean, well-furnished and organized place. The location is good, very close to metro station and short walk distance to the night tram. Also, there is Tesco two blocks away. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They recommended great restaurants and pubs. One of the best hostels I ever stayed, also with good prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuba_sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budapest Centrum
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 342 in Budapest
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hello Budapest Hostel
Hello Budapest Hostel
#81 of 655 in Budapest
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
HoBar - the hostel bar
HoBar - the hostel bar
#139 of 655 in Budapest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandala Hostel
Mandala Hostel
#95 of 655 in Budapest
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hostel
Avenue Hostel
#27 of 655 in Budapest
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rabbit Hostel
White Rabbit Hostel
#159 of 655 in Budapest
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipster Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipster Hostel

Property: Hipster Hostel
Address: Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipster Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name speaks for itself: fancy, brand new hostel in the heart of Budapest, in a pedestrian street, in a student area, 50m from metro/tram/bus, cafes-bars-restaurants all around, freshly DIY decorated accommodation especially for all travelers' needs. Hipster has 4 different types of accommodation, all done in a hot do-it-yourself spirit: rn1. POLKA DOTS ROOM: a giant mezzanine with double beds on the upper side (2 separated double beds), and a double bed and 4 simple beds for groups on the lower part. rn2. MAGENTA FEVER ROOM: stylish black bunk beds for 6 persons with a pinch of magenta touchrn3. CANDY ROOM: a smaller mezzanine with one double bed on the upper and another one on the lower part,. HONEYMOON SUITE: for couples in love, with private bathroom and private entrance.The hostel speaks English, French, Spanish, Brazil, Portuguese, German... Wants to learn Polish, Russian, Chinese Mandarin, Japanese :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hipster Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing