We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and cosy”
Review of Hipster Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hipster Hostel
Ranked #140 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and cosy”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you would Google: "traveling alone", "city center", "clean", "cosy" and "friendly", Hipster Hostel would be on top of the list! Close by the old city but also nearby vibrant and upcoming part of the city. The hostel itself is proper and fresh but also very homely and highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokishake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
26
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here a couple weeks ago for 3 nights and it was amazing! The atmosphere of the hostel was like that of a good friend of yours. The place was very clean and the staff was VERY helpful in making sure my friends and I were comfortable. The hostel is also very close to the metro station and located at a good part of the city where all the sights are within walking distance (30min). I would definitely go back if I came back to Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend in the candy room, such friendly staff who were willing to help you with finding local sights and book tickets (highly recommend to book your bath & trip tickets here to avoid queues).

Really enjoyed my stay, it was really clean and facilities are second to none, I'd happily recommend this to anyone on a budget or even looking for higher end hostel.

We will definitely be staying here again.

*The only issue was due to such unseasonably hot weather our sleep was distributed due to not being a fan available in the room, but we did mention it to the owner and he said he would sort something out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I travelled to Budapest in June and thoroughly enjoyed our six days there. The hostel is ideally situated in the centre close to restaurants and the subway. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was brilliant; very spacious, clean and modern. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Budapest, irrespective of their age. I have travelled all over the world and this is the best hostel I have stayed in. Great value for money as well, which is a bonus!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A few weeks ago my girlfriend and I were visiting Budapest. She found Hipster Hostel, and honestly, this was the best experience that I've ever had so far. I did travel a lot already, but almost always with the sleeping bag and/or tent. The guys from the reception are very friendly, the place is very clean, quiet (if you wanna go wild you just go downstairs), two toilets, one shower and one tub, wifi, big kitchen, fridge, washing machine, etc...it's your perfect place.
It is extremely cozy, and you really feel like at one of your friend's place from the very first time you go inside. Also it's in the heart of the city center, so it's totally worth it!!\
One final remark: it is a little bit difficult to find, since there is no sign or direction which points at it. But that's is part of the game of traveling freely..

And one last suggestion: for the best food (and perhaps one of the cheapest) food in town, go to 'Greens Pub'. Ask the guys at the desk for directions, I already told them that once I've tried it, I never ate anywhere else.

Keep it up guys!!
Cheers,
Catalin

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hostel is brand new including furnitures and furnishings (IKEA style)
Very very clean!!!
Staff is friendly and can help you to plan your trip around Budapest.
Location is excellent, 200 m from metro station and bus stop.
Nearest shops are below bulding (alcohol as weel).

I stayed there for 5 nights and without any hesitation I can recommend it to anyone.

Lukas (Poland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszPolandMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

An excellent place to stay in Budapest!! Great location near the city center, has a lot of restaurants/coffee shops near by, the metro station is 2 minutes away! Above all it is super clean, cosy, with modern furniture and decoration and really nice staff. They were friendly and cool ;) We would certainly go back! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaaaalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
HoBar - the hostel bar
#146 of 652 in Budapest
63 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#95 of 652 in Budapest
76 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Loft Hostel Budapest
The Loft Hostel Budapest
#41 of 652 in Budapest
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Colors Hostel
Colors Hostel
#116 of 652 in Budapest
128 reviews
The Groove
#57 of 652 in Budapest
132 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Treestyle Hostel
Treestyle Hostel
#94 of 652 in Budapest
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipster Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipster Hostel

Property: Hipster Hostel
Address: Baross utca 3, Budapest 1082, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 652 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hipster Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name speaks for itself: fancy, brand new hostel in the heart of Budapest, in a pedestrian street, in a student area, 50m from metro/tram/bus, cafes-bars-restaurants all around, freshly DIY decorated accommodation especially for all travelers' needs. Hipster has 4 different types of accommodation, all done in a hot do-it-yourself spirit: rn1. POLKA DOTS ROOM: a giant mezzanine with double beds on the upper side (2 separated double beds), and a double bed and 4 simple beds for groups on the lower part. rn2. MAGENTA FEVER ROOM: stylish black bunk beds for 6 persons with a pinch of magenta touchrn3. CANDY ROOM: a smaller mezzanine with one double bed on the upper and another one on the lower part,. HONEYMOON SUITE: for couples in love, with private bathroom and private entrance.The hostel speaks English, French, Spanish, Brazil, Portuguese, German... Wants to learn Polish, Russian, Chinese Mandarin, Japanese :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hipster Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing