We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfasts In Town!”

Caledonia Scottish Pub
Ranked #432 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Caledonia Budapest, a Scottish pub. We are a village pub in the heart of Budapest, where you can have pint or two with your friends - or with your work mates, where you can watch your favourite team playing football, rugby or you name it. We are lucky to have so many nice customers, coming back year after year to experience what the Caledonia is: a cosy, home from home "local". What we offer is a great choice of whisky - truly the largest whisky selection you can find in Budapest. Also we have Belhaven beer on draught, with a selection of Hungarian and Czech lager. We also have a good, tasty kitchen, offering burgers, fish and chips, pies and British style sausages. Yes, we also have a full Scottish Breakfast, and yes, we serve Haggis too. Who is behind the Caledonia? I tell you: it's Patrick McMenamin, a Scottish guy from Edinburgh, and Zsuzsanna Bozo, a Hungarian. And a few more Hungarian staff to serve you. You have more question? Did you like your visit? Would you recommend us to your friends? Please do tell us.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts In Town!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Like many of the reviews have said already... this is one for the expats... especially if you're missing a proper English/Scottish fry up! The closest thing you will get to finding a proper sausage in Budapest! Great drinks & food - the burgers are also great... and I am a sucker for their Baileys hot chocolate!

Staff are brilliant. Been here a few times and haven't had the chance to meet the owner yet but the staff I have met are friendly, helpful, and always up for a laugh! They make you feel right at home and you are always greeted with a big smile!

Eat here, drink here, watch the footie here... Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    47
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Should be a magnet for ex-pats”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My family and I sought out this pub after reading about it in the Time Out Guide and on Trip Advisor. You certainly need a map to find it, but it is centrally located nevertheless. It is owned by an Edinburgh man, who is clearly a Scottish Football supporter, as demonstrated by the various team flags and mascots displayed on the walls. The owner, who came out and chatted with us, is a very affable fellow. The bar stocked a range of beers including Belhaven (from Dunbar) on draft. Unfortunately our visit was very short and we didn't eat there. We would certainly return, and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sportsbar”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Easygoing sportsbar with the must have Guinness pint! Typically British style, even dogs are welcome inside.

Helpful?
Thank Rockesokker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My favorite bar”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are some english/scottish/irish style bars in Budapest, but this is the best one. The prices are correct, the feel is pretty authentic and the staff (including the owner) is firendly. I think it says most about the place that it is always packed with brittish expats.

They have a really good choice of beers and even better range of whiskys. The food is also above average - but I am not that familiar with the scottish kitchen to be a credible source. Their hamburgers are pretty tasty though.

If you want to get the feel of the hungarian pub scene it is not the place. But if you need a little "english" surrounding this is definately where you can get the feeling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamAntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking For Sports Pub to Show Saturday Premiership Game”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Came across this Scottish pub while exploring back streets off Annassey Street and called in to see if they would be showing English Premiership games over the weekend.
The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pub was full of expats and locals giving off a great atmosphere. Didn't try the food but they had a good choice of local and imported beers.
Worth a visit if you want local info.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caledonia Scottish Pub also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Caledonia Scottish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing