We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palinka & hot chocolate - the best!”

BARbar Cafe & Chocolate
Ranked #55 of 151 Dessert in Budapest
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Located in the most peaceful part of District V in a small side street of Vaci Utca (Papnovelde utca 3.), BARBar Cafe & Chocolate is THE BEST chocolateria in this town! The owners, a young couple named Viki and Tomi, are very enthusiastic about the cafe and their aim is to make the guests utterly at home and relaxed in their cafe.The philosophy behind it is: using only high-quality ingredients for the preparation of coffees, lemonades and chocolates. For the chocolate drinks they buy real Belgian Callebaut chocolate (dark 70%, milk 47% or white 28% chocolate pastilles and not powder that is sued in most other Budapest cafes). The freshly made lemonade drinks (in ajam jar) are very refreshing on a sultry summer day. You can also have snacks, should you feel peckish: try the various spreads (aubergine spread, Italian pesto, spiced tomato cream). BARBar Cafe has laid-back atmosphere with warm colors and creative furnishing (refurbished Singer sewing machines serve as tables).
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Palinka & hot chocolate - the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited there this afternoon (01/11/12). It is hidden away and very small downstairs with a big counter, but upstairs the guest area is really big with a chill out room. We ordered two hot chocolates, one white with pear palinka, dried pear and walnut, and an other dark chocolate with dried plum, cinnamon and plum palinka. They were both amazing, the best hot chocolates you will ever have – for 1250 HUF (ca. 4.5 EUR) is not too much!
We will going back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honfi_viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    54
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We visited there this afternoon (01/10/12) It is hidden away and very small, the man at the counter was very nice and informative and spoke excellent English. We had 2 hot chocolates, a rum, raisin and walnut milk chocolate and a plum, palinka dark chocolate, they were both amazing, the best hot chocolates you will ever have! We will definitely be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lemonades with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Whether you're visiting through the summer or winter, this place has some really special beverages that you won't get anywhere else in Budapest. The lemonades are great and are served in really cool jars, not to mention you can have a shot of the famous Hungarian "pálinka" in it if you want to make it special. Plus you can get really tasty and cheap ice cream during the summer. The hot chocolate is also great during the winter and you have the pálinka option for those as well. The place is cozy and the service is very friendly, so overall a huge thumbs up, a must visit place imo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curumiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious lemonade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I would have loved to try a hot chocolate but it was about 28 degrees Celsius, so a little too warm for that! We settled for a nice cold lemonade - I had raspberry and my boyfriend had blackberry, but there were about 8 flavours available I think, and from what I remember they were all about 780Ft (which was about £2.25 at the time we went). They were both gorgeous, and were served in big jars with loads of fresh fruit crammed in. You get a little spoon as well as a straw, so I ate all the raspberries that were left in the bottom of mine once I'd finished drinking it. I think we arrived quite soon after it opened as there was no ice cream out yet unfortunately. The inside is very cosy and bright.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best beverage stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Budapest seems to be filled with delicious and large lemonades but the drinks at Barbar seem to be the best in town. They fill large jars (0.5L) with fresh fruit and liquid. Delicious. They also make ice cream from chocolate and fruit. It might even be a better stop in winter as they have a large selection of hot cocoa which they mix with spices, nuts and fruit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissPicky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BARbar Cafe & Chocolate also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to BARbar Cafe & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing