We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Arena Camping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arena Camping
Ranked #59 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“it a shame”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We decided to stay after reading all the fine reviews.
The owner I must say is one of the most helpful managers we have found in our trip,
but the site is one of the most noisy sites we have stayed at, between the planes and trains at night we had to resort to sleeping tablets to sleep.
The showers were ok, but the standard of construction leaves a lot to be desired. It might be ok for Hungary but I am not hungarian and the owner continued the cleaning of ladies showers while ladies were still in there and left them shaken. All in all if you are aware of the noise issues & leaking toilets & showers before arriving, you can make up your own mind, but I think some of the other reviews must have rose coloured glasses on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently I have been to Budapest and stayed in Arena camp. I am quite happy as I selected to stay in Arena camping. People were very nice there and very helpful. If I visit budapest again I will stay there :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarwarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was aweful ! We stayed in a bungalow and couldn`t get to sleep as it was so stinky and dirty. We didn`t even want to lie down as the mattresses were so disguisting ! Bathroom was hell, too - toilet not properly working; shower- drain full of hair. It was very clear that it hadn`t been cleaned at all, because when we did a wipe the cloth turned black.. Bungalow is not to be recommended. The camping ground itself seemed clean, quiet and the staff was friendly, too

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europareisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We arrived in Budapest expecting to stay at Haller Camping for our duration... when we got there it was crowded with few spots available (people had taken what was left up with their laundry), no shade and it was so muddy, we headed for Arena Camping, which ended up as one of our best decisions to date. One of the operators, Michael, gave us a great little orientation pack including discount meals with the University opposite the campsite. The campsite was much more comfortable than what we had encountered at the other site, very clean with lush green grass and plenty of shade. They also have new toilets and showers, with electricity and free use of the washing machine included in the very fair (and cheapest in Budapest) price. Access to the city centre is flawless, with buses to the Metro every few minutes if you don't want to walk the 10 minutes it takes. On top of all of that, the operators are the nicest and most helpful people we have met in 18 months of travelling. Michael even took time out of his day to take us to the local workshop so our camper could have some running repairs, and on multiple occasions acted as our translator with the local mechanic (also fantastic) so we knew what was going on and how much everything was costing etc. We ended up staying 5 nights when we had only planned for 2, just because we were having such a nice time. A great site, and fantastic value... Can highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A warm welcome we got at this small campsite, some minutes from the city centre.

Lots of dutch people, backpackers. Open and trusting atmosphere on the site and rather clean sanitair which in top season might be limited in quantity.

A warm recommendation.

Only cons: some noice of passing trains and airplanes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huuronzecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed Thursday till Monday in a camper van staff very friendly and helpful brought a 3 day Budapest transport ticket ideal to get to Budapest and stroll around campsite toilets and showers very clean and dog chained to kennel greeted you with barks
outdoor drinks fridge with good beer and the university food excellent very cheap breakfast about £2.00 dinner £3.00
saving up to go again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobs986514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We really liked this campsite. It is the coziest, most home-like place we stayed in. The service is very genuine, they told us everything about Budapest, gave us detergent to wash our clothes and overall helped us with all of our concerns. There is even a cute dog on site greeting everyone :). The prices are very reasonable for a convenient (next to bus stop), pleasant and very clean and green stay with many trees and flowers! We also got to eat at the University cafeteria - a 3 course meal with traditional Hungarian food for only 3 euros! Strongly recommend! :D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
CEU Conference Center
#171 of 342 in Budapest
28 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
5,351 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Sashalom Hotel
#56 of 189 in Budapest
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Camping

Property: Arena Camping
Address: Pilisi utca 7, Budapest 1106, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arena Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing