We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Baron, Budapest”
Review of Residence Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Baron
Ranked #63 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As previously stated in other reviews the Residence Baron is in a useful location close to the river and the central market which is truly worth a visit. On arriving by metro it can be confusing initially to find and on arrival in central Budapest it is best to jump on tram 49 or 47 to Elizabeth Bridge and then follow your map a few steps to Vaci Utca and then find the location near the top of the street near the square.
The road outside the hotel was unfortunately being resurfaced when we arrived and every morning at 6.30-7.00 we were woken at the front of the hotel by the sound of the machinery. The Hotel were unapologetic and offered no allowances for the disruption. An email before we arrived would have warned us and been courteous. The double room was small but spotless, a large shower with added hairdryer etc, a minibar and T.V which doubled as a P.C. The double bed is not a double but two singles pushed together with two single duvets and a gap in the middle so don't expect to cuddle up!
The hotel pool is rather amusing and the pictures on the web make it seem like a proper pool not a small tub with a flow of water for you to swim against as there is no room to actually swim anywhere. Clever trick photography, there is a sauna and spa, all free.
The breakfast is adequate and you can order fresh omelette or boiled eggs from the waiter if the pre cooked hot fare looks uninviting after a couple of mornings. They do run out of some items and there could be more fruit on offer. An orange and an apple on offer and one morning mixed fruit. There is cereal and yoghurt, rolls and jams. Enough to set you off for the day.
The staff were approachable but not overfriendly. The taxi to the airport set up from the hotel was reasonable at 5800 Hun Fl which was considerably cheaper than the taxi quote from the rank in the square.
Overall the Hotel was comfortable, clean and well located but the rooms are slightly disappointing size wise, and the doubles are not doubles.
The city is beautiful, so much to see and do and would highly recommend the Free Walking Tours of Budapest, very informative and help you make the best of your stay by giving an explanation of the city history and cultural heritage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceBaron, Front Office Manager at Residence Baron, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Nickysc,
I would like to thank you for sharing your appreciative comment on Tripadvisor. It has been our pleasure that you found us a good place to stay. I also would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our room cleanliness, and the location. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast too, we try to expand our assortments with more delicacies to fulfill the requirements. Our staff also try to make their best to create a cosy and pleasant atmosphere for all of our guests. We offer all kind of sightseeing tours, river cruises, programmes, thermal tickets, taxi service etc. at the Reception-desk. As our hotel is not so huge, we have only 27 rooms, the size of our wellness area fits to the hotel’s size (the counter-current pool is 600x210 cm, as it is stated on the website) and equipped with all facilities (jacuzzi, sauna, wellness pool and massage service) so we try to provide complex service in our hotel, not only bed-and-breakfast, but fine catering -an a’la carte restaurant, lobby bar - wellness department and soon we will open our medical center.
We were also worried about the noise and the unconveniences due to the municipal road reconstruction in front of us, and we sent a warning e-mail to all the guests to whom we had a valid e-mail address to let them know about it. The renovation was only on weekdays in official working-time, to avoid waking up the guests in the morning or disturb their sleep (we consulted with the company as there are two hotels in this area) and also there was some difficulty to access the hotel, but our bellboys got the situation controlled and helped carring the luggage and accompanying the guests to the taxis. Now the works are completed and the street is nicer than it used to be, thank you for your patience and understanding.
We appreciate your suggestions, as we strive to improve our services and make our guests stay as enjoyable as we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 735 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Wow...Just wow! We were scammed by another "apartment-hotel" and had to make the last minute reservations using the local McD's WiFi connection. At first, we thought that the hotel will be just ok, given the low price and the fact that it was a bit away from the city center (or so we thought). When we finally got to the hotel we were really surprised at how nice the hotel was. It looks brand new inside and out. The staff was very attentive. The room was top notch. Unfortunately their fitness center was closed for remodeling so we did not get to experience that. The breakfast was good (although they would occasionally run out of certain items). The best part was the proximity to all the major tourist attractions. The hotel is literally steps away from the famous Vaci Utca, the liberty bridge and the Hungarian Nat'l Museum. Also, do yourself a favor and climb the near by Gellert Hill (where Citadel/Liberty Statue are located). It only takes about 30 minutes and the views are aaaaamazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VB_TA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having visited the Residence Baron recently I was very impressed with this small hotel. It is classed as a 3 star hotel but I don't see why it's not a 4 star. It is very centrally located at the southern end of Vaci Utca near the large Central Market.
We were arriving in the evening so arranged a transfer taxi through the hotel as we didn't think we'd have any local currency however euros are widely used here and we were also able to get money from the atm in the airport (commision free but lower exchange rate). It was €28 for 2 people through the hotel which is a little dearer than through the airport website but you pay for the convenience. We got the metro and bus back for €1.50 each!!!! Another option is the transfer link that goes to all the hotels which i think is approx €12
Back to the hotel - the reception area is small but comfortable with lots of information available for tours etc. Our check in was very quick and all the reception staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful. As a whole all the staff in the hotel were polite, helpful and cheerful and eager to help in any way.
The room was average sized for a small hotel and definitely bigger than some other hotels in european cities. It was nicely decorated with unusual wall art and features. There was a flat screen tv that also linked up with a kepboard to become a computer with free wifi access which was great for checking flight times, tours etc. There was tea and coffee facilites but you had to pay for the actual tea and coffee sachets. It was 50cent each. I don't feel you should have to pay for these small things, especially when they provide the kettle and cups to encourage to you to have them in your room. Also, they provided earl grey tea instead of english breakfast which we had requested ( and paid for). It wasn't a big deal but we'll bring our own in future when we go away.
The bathroom was lovely with a fab shower and plenty of hot water. We asked for some more shampoo but were told that you only get one set in your room for your stay. Again, it was only a small thing but in the era of budget airlines and liquid and weight restrictions I don't see why this small request was denied.
The breakfast each morning was great. There was lots of choice cereal, cheeses, meats, hot breakfast buffet ( eggs, bacon, sausage etc) and if this didn't satisy you then you could order fresh hot food such as poached eggs, omelettes and french toast. It really set you up for the day and again the staff were more than pleasant.
On checking out we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and pick them up later for our flight. The reception staff also gave advice on how to get to the airport by public transport.
One tiny gripe is that there was building works along the street which is nothing the hotel could control but they could have put a little ramp from the path to the road instead of unstable bricks just in case someone fell.
We got a great deal with this hotel by booking well in advance and they allow you to put forward a "bid" for your room. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Local Tips:
Avoid the local restaurant Galilei ( i have written a review) around the corner on Vaci utca. It looks lovely, especially at night, as it has fire lanterns lit to keep you warm but they are one of the restaurants that try to rip off torists by over charging for drinks, bringing things you haven't ordered and basically giving budapest a bad name.

Take the free walking tour - it's excellent. It leaves daily ( i think) from the Volosmorty square at 10.30. You pay what you feel the tour is worth. I have done this tour in a few cities and the tour guides are amazing. They make such an effort to be informative and friendly because they are relying on you to pay them nicely.
Raday utca, about a ten min walk from the hotel, is a street with lots of lovely restaurants and bars and much better prices than closer to the centre. Try Paprika restaurant for excellent food, wine and service.
Try and go to one of the "Ruin" bars in the jewish quarter. They are quirky and cool but relaxing - even my mother who was with me liked it :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I can give the highest praise possible to this hotel. There was a small mix up with the room which the staff rectified more than adequately. A member of the staff even rode with me to the parking structure and walked back with me giving me a mini-tour along the way. The breakfast was marvelous and free. The TV is fantastic! ESPN - wow, I've never seen that in Europe before. The staff is the most friendly I've encountered. The restaurant is top notch, too. I only wish we could have stayed longer. The location is great right by the market and shopping street.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHS_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very good hotel, with very nice staff.
The rooms are very nice with good beds. There is some noise from outside, but with the window closed you can sleep well.
Room description: air conditioning, 2 beds, 2 bedside tables with drawers and 2 lamps, desk with lamp and chair, fridge / minibar, table with kettle, two cups and saucers and 2 glasses, low cabinet with mirror above it; cabinet with 4 cloth pegs, 1 shelf and safe.
Bathroom with toilet, washbasin with cupboard, bath with shower. The bath also has a jacuzzi (not used).

Some small points of criticism: The bathroom lacks a shower curtain / screen. It is unfortunate that the mini bar fridge is so full that you can’t put anything else in it.. You can boil water, but there are no tea bags. You have to pay a small amount extra for tea bags.
The breakfast is good, but the sweet breads are not really sweet ... At the moment (may 2013), the street is being laid again. There is a spa with swimming pool in the hotel, but it closes at 9 PM. We didn’t use it because we were too late back at the hotel..

The location of the hotel is very good:
The hotel is situated on the edge of the centre, close to the Vaci utca and to the Market Hall and the bridge over the Danube. The Gellért hotel is at the other end of the bridge. The dining street Ráday Utca is nearby. The metro and tram are nearby. Tram 2 goes a long way along the Danube. On the other side of the river tram 19 does the same.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, but they look towards a wall, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Overall we liked Residence Baron. Staff is really helpfull. Especially the gentleman at hotel's restaurant was very polite. (I recommend it as well) Room is very clean but quite small. Bathroom is very nice. Breakfast does not have variety of choices but i liked the omeletes they prepared. We had a misunderstanding with the credit card (deposit) but issue was solved with no problem. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taksidiaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Really pleased I chose this hotel. The location could not have been better. Right next to a lovely square where you can have a meal and a drink, looking out to bridge on the river. Market just across the road and the river 2 minutes walk. Trams very easily accessible, as is the Metro.
Food in the hotel was good, Breakfast had a vast choice. The Princessin Restaurant was very nice, but the menu was a little limited. Staff very helpful and room comfortable and clean. The jacuzzi bath was fabulous! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely jacuzzi bath. Don't know if they all do, but definitely request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaJK005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#15 of 336 in Budapest
2,570 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#56 of 336 in Budapest
1,256 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#52 of 336 in Budapest
836 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#100 of 336 in Budapest
717 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#23 of 336 in Budapest
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baron

Address: So utca 4 | 05 Belvaros - Lipotvaros, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $60 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Baron is located in the downtown of Budapest with 27-rooms, offering four-star hotel services, houses in a beautifully restored building which was constructed in one of the most prosperous period in the history of Budapest, in the 1870s.The exterior and interior decoration preserves the splendour of the original romantic and secession style, combining it with the modern infrastructure, services and the conveniences of today.The hotel awaits guests with 27 elegantly furnished and well equipped rooms, 1suite, a number of culinary, comfort and medical services, and a conference room for 20 persons.In "Princessin" restaurant, we provide buffet breakfast and a la carte menu for our Guests with international and Hungarian cuisine, wines, and today's contemporary delicacies * Lobby Cafe * Wellness facilites: counter-current pool, jacuzzi, sauna, massage service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing