We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for Budapest, but not "very" good”
Review of Black Cab Burger

Black Cab Burger
Ranked #182 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good for Budapest, but not "very" good”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As an expat living here for more than 10 years one of the things I miss most is a good cheeseburger. Up until Black Cab opened my options were very limited and I had resigned myself to the home grill. Their burgers are freshly made as are their fries and it probably is the best burger in Budapest. That being said, Black Cab offers a good burger but not a great one. Quickly here are the positives: fresh meat, thick patties, good fries and good options for the burgers like bacon and jalapenos. Negatives: as is typical for Hungarian burgers there are way too many sauces on the burger...like the meat plays a backup role to the vast amounts of ketchup, mustard and mayo. The buns are also a little too crumbly and don't hold up well to the meat and yes, ocean of condiments (this is especially frustrating in a city with such good bakeries). The other negative is the lack of seating. It is very cramped, especially at lunch time.

So, if you are looking for a good burger in Budapest then this is the place. If you are looking for a great one...well we are all still looking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    90
    32
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant even describe how good it was”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The best Burger I ate in my life, no doubt about that.
The service was excellent and the sellers were very very nice.
The food was just fantastic, and the shop itself is very clead and organised.
Couldnt eat for the rest of the night as it was so good I ate 2 burgers.
Will come back again next time I visit Budapest for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idan1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but....”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food is excellent, we've been there twice this month. Only problem is that the service is awful. The servers/chefs/whoevers are impolite and rude so we'll never go back :( Pity

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Vera000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I really don't get the hype around this place. The burgers are really fine but the "salad with blue cheese" was pretty dull (McDonalds quality), so I cannot give 4 or 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bodoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just been there”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to this app and other people reviews i went with my wife to have a meal. We went by metro and then walked. I ordered double big burger and large chips. She ordered big burger, i must say that is the best burger i ate sofar. Juicy, with lots of ingridients. Staff is friendly, polite and they speak english. I would recommend it to everybody !!!

Helpful?
Thank Ap0qalypto
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Black Cab Burger also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Black Cab Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing