We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart but spooky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #34 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Smart but spooky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Perhaps no coincidence that Transylvania is a few miles away as the bat flies, this hotel would satisfy any well-to-do vampire with a taste for the orient.

Consistently dark and dimly lit, almost entirely furnished in red and black, and that includes the staff - other than a few serving girls in white looking like sacrificial virgins in waiting.

Don't get me wrong, we really enjoyed it, the location is excellent, it's a five star quality hotel, well equipped, big, very clean room, loved the underfloor heating in the big bathroom, unbelievably comfortable bed, and we couldn't fault the service. The dimly lit bar had some great music, with a live sitar/violin player adding a nice lilt over the top. The welcome cocktail was fantastic.

But the staff were almost too helpful, we felt a little 'controlled' at times, and we felt we were frequently in the wrong place at the wrong time. Staff would frequently pop up from nowhere with a 'can I help you?' and then send you down a different corridor. Like maybe we were being prevented from discovering some dark activity, that as token guests we were there to provide a necessary smokescreen.

We would definitely stay there again but we might put some garlic around the door next time. Oh, and the stake is exceptional.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is up high, away from the music in the bar if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverFoxWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    426
    123
    33
    22
See reviews for
152
927
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Volketswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

everything was pretty fine, good room, everything in style, TV, buddha sound collection on TV and sound speakers in the bathroom, big very comfortable bed, but in total I did not feel pleased as the very dark style with all black or dark red colours did not fit my taste. even the whole breakfast room is kept very dark coloured. all sevices were no doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasMoll1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time in Budapest, the hotel is lovely and very central to the whole city. The service is great and they really look after you, we were treated very well. The bar is cool, friendly and inviting. The staff pretty much all speak English. We had a not quite perfect breakfast from room service one day - a little bit bad luck and a little bit our communication ie no milk with the breakfast tea but we assumed it would come with it but they bent over backwards to get what we needed and exceed our expectations

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barhopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is all about the experience and the atmosphere. If you are used to other standard 4 star hotels you may not like this. Standard rooms are good size. Beds were very comfortable. Generally clean, but due to the dark furniture, decoration and lighting dust was showing. Only espresso machine in the room so no normal coffee or tea. Bathroom was spacious with very gadgety toilet (that was the highlight of our stay). Breakfast was average, compared to other 4 star hotels. Steam room and sauna were very good. The staff was very helpful, from reception to breakfast bar. Its location is excellent, close to underground station and hop on-off buses. Overall a good experience. If you get a good price, it is worth experiencing it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIKEF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for my wife's birthday.
Upon arriving we checked in and the staff couldn't have been better.
The Hotel was fairly quiet and so we were upgraded to a suite which was huge. It had every possible convenience you could want including a remotely operated toilet with heated loo seat.
The décor is dark and not to everyone's tastes but for us on a romantic weekend away it was fine. If you are planning on doing work in your room the lighting may be a problem.
After a short while I realised I had left my hand luggage in the taxi we come in from the airport. It had my Samsung tablet in it. Thinking I would probably never see it again I had a word with the reception in the hotel who immediately phoned the taxi company for us. As it was evening and we were hungry we went out for the evening and left the taxi fare with reception on the off chance it was found and returned.
During our meal the reception told us the taxi driver had found my bag and had returned it to them. Thank you very much all the staff that were involved as there were several and the only charge was a tip to the taxi driver and the Hotel staff upon departure. They really went above and beyond what was expected.
The hotel itself was superbly located within easy access of all the sites within the city. The breakfast was great as was the small spa which we used.
The Budha bar experience is something quite different from the norm, very atmospheric. Probably not to everyone's tastes but we loved it.
My only gripe would be central Budapest is quite expensive, certainly on a par with London unless you stay further out.
The hotel itself was excellent, cleaned to a high standard and our suite was great although the fantastic shower did leak everywhere.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can get the corner suite on the second floor (214), although next to the busy road the triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d-atkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a four day break from Budapest and stayed at this amazing hotel. Cannot rate this hotel enough! The service, staff, food, atmosphere was top notch. Staff were always on hand to help and very hospitable. The location was ideal everything was within walking distance plenty of restaurants , bars and shops right by your doorstep. Budapest itself an amazing city lots to do and see will definitely be returning next summer. Also would like to say a big thank you to all the bar staff in Buddha bar lounge for making our experience extra special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxbg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is really nice in terms of inspiring the classic lounge / Buddah bar athmosphere.
The deco is relaxing and gives you good vibes from the first moment. The rooms are amazing in the deco and concept, however there is this feeling that the relaxing semi obscured atmosphere which is further enhanced by the dark red and black colors tends to hide a bit the
quite worn out status of the place.
If you turn the lights on to full power you can see that the walls are full of stains and dirty fingerprints, the furniture is scratched, the wall corners have been bumped all over and the
fake wooden floor is washed out from either use or agressive detergent.
The fluffy red carpets also are suspicious of all kind of bacteria accumulated therein.
I don t want to sound too picky but the detail seems at times neglegted as everyone is focused on the overall impressive looks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your time to tell us about your recent experience. I am glad that the special Buddha-Bar atmosphere captured your heart.
Buddha-Bar is renowned for its individual colour schemes based on the black and red surfaces, combined with a touch of gold and the special lighting setup, that puts the final touch to the interior.
There was a great emphasis on the quality materials and furniture during the design phase however some areas require continuous extra care that we are able to deliver in the less active period of the hotel.
Thank you for sharing your expression with us, it is important to understand our customer’s needs so all feedback is truly valuable for us.

I do hope that you will soon have a chance to return to Budapest and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest!
Kind Regards,
Tamás Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,801 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing