We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddha on fire?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Buddha on fire?!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Buddha-bar hotel for 3 nights. As other reviewers already said, the hotel itself is nicely located in the Vaci Utci street.

Regarding service, I will say that the Buddha-Bar is “up-there” with other 5* hotels in Budapest, we have previously stayed at the Four Seasons in Budapest, and the staff at Buddha-Bar is really friendly and observant in comparison, both at the welcome walk-through, at the breakfast, and in the restaurant. Count on a lot “extras” such as complementary water, coffee-capsules, and free Wifi (not a big-deal before it’s missing).

Unfortunately the hotel GREATLY DISAPPOINTED during the last night: Someone, as the receptionist explained the morning after, "accidentally pushed the fire-alarm".
Well, thank you for the information, because IF IT HAD BEEN A REAL FIRE, WE WOULD PROPABLY BE DEAD BY NOW!

To keep it short: We were shook awake by an alarm at 4 a.m., and spent 5 minutes wondering what the sound was (I was so sleepy and confused, and stupidly suspected a wake-up call in the wrong room). The concierge was of course unavailable, and had no automatic message telling the guests to get out!

It was first when we heard other people going out we understood that it had to be the fire alarm. Let me just say: panic is an understatement! Our room was in the 4th floor, and the hotel is very dark. The whole “Buddha-bar-atmosphere” made the situation extremely scary and stressful. I didn’t see anything and fell in the stairs when running out, probably only luck that I didn’t break something.

When finally outside none of the hotel-staff was present, it was only a few guests, and from the hotel, from beginning to end, no information was offered at all. And maybe worse: No fire fighters arrived in the time we stood there, probably 15-20 minutes. Again, what if it had been a real fire?? In the end they just turned off the alarm, and some of the guests started to walk in, we lingered a bit before following, (even though we still felt extremely anxious, since we did not know what had happened).

I spent the rest of the night in pain, caused by the injuries from when I fell in the stairs!! I even had to ask for some normal painkillers in the morning, which they unfortunately could not provide.

Bottom line: That someone accidentally triggers the fire alarm is maybe not the hotels fault, but I must say the hotel handled this situation extremely badly!! Which makes me wonder what would happen in a worse case scenario? In the end I guess I was just glad it happened during our last night, because it would have totally ruined our holiday elsewise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear,
Thank you very much for your time, reviewing your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our services in overall, especially that you were staying at other upscale 5-star hotels in Budapest before. We are very sorry however about the accidental fire alarm on your last night and for the inconvenience caused. Unfortunately the alarm was generated by one of our guests by accident. Please rest assured that the situation was entirely under control by our colleagues and that the hotel is fully equipped with all necessary fire protection equipment and our system is directly linked to the fire brigade head office. In such cases the alarm goes on an appr. 100 decibel volume to alert those staying in the building. At the same time our colleague in charge of controlling the fire panel, informs the relevant departments about the exact spot where the possible fire is on. In this case when the fact of a fake fire alarm was detected, our colleagues shut off the siren and cancelled the fire brigade at the same time, thus they did not came to the hotel. We understand that it must have been an extremely stressful situation and in such cases time seems to be much longer than in reality, however we would like to emphasize that the building is perfectly secured for fire situations.
We would like to apologize once more for the inconvenience and should you return to Budapest, you will always be welcome!

Yours sincerely,
Tamás Fazekas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    461
    131
    36
    24
See reviews for
166
987
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oranit. Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

No question about that: this is the best hotel we ever stayed in. The professional and courteous staff we ever met in any hotel; the superb breakfast (omlet with goose liver!), the amazing room with all the super modern gudgets like huge television screen, serround sound system and espresso machine; a bathroom we never saw anywhere and decore you can't appreciate enough. This hotel was the best part of our Budapest experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 5th floor. A wonderful experience is עuaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sami,

Many thanks for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest for your first hotel to review! Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that your Budapest stay thus was even more memorable. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our services and in-room amenities and glad that you found everything to your convenience.

We do hope that you will repeat your experience in Budapest and would be glad to be your host again!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Food is great,staff are very friendly, price is definitely brilliant and cocktails are amazing. The restaurant itself is stunning inside. We thought this place would be expensive but it wasn't at all would definitely recommend to anyone going to Budapest

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear,

Delighted to hear about your nice experience at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest and many thanks for your kind words. All comments are very important to us, especially of a senior contributor with much hotel experience.

Truly hope that we will have an other chance to spoil you, on your next Budapest holiday, looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I travelled to Budapest with my partner for a long weekend on 23rd of may.

Checking in took about 15min as the room wasn't ready yet, and we got room 508. The room, however, still hadn't been cleaned properly upon inspection (hairs on toilet seat and in bath tub...) and remained that way during our stay, despite complaints. I had already read here on tripadvisor that this room was troublesome, and we indeed experienced the smelly toilet and inconvenient showershield which caused the whole bathroom to flood whilst showering. As we had gotten a good deal with breakfast included, we weren't expecting the most luxurious room and obviously this room is assigned to these deals and the better rooms reserved for other guests. The good things about the room were: toiletries were abundant and stocked each day, the media hub for the smart tv was a nice addition along with the speakers in the bathroom, heated floor + automatic toilet, nespresso machine with 3 free choices of coffee, very comfortable bed.

Breakfast is amazing with a wide choice of buffet and from the menu (try the benedict eggs!) and the personell was very helpful (I called once at midnight to see if they had a camera cable for me to attach my camera to the media hub, and they went through quite a bit of trouble looking for one and bringing it to the room).

The spa is small but allright, with 1 sauna, 1 infrared sauna, a jacuzzi and a steam room. We arrived once at 19.30 (closing hours 21) and they had already drained the jacuzzi so we couldn't use it (and refused to fill it up), and whilst we were there they started shutting off the lights and such, probably to get us to leave.. Not very professional.

The location of the hotel is quite central, right along the main shopping street and walking distance of other things. Public transport is in 10min walking distance and easy (and cheap) to use, we used it for sightseeing 1 day and for returning to the airport. There were constructions right around the hotel, but we didn't experience any trouble from our room.

Overall: ok for a new hotel; though I expected more having 5 stars and all, at least a properly cleaned room and not being hurried away from the spa so personell can leave early..


p.s. I found my mascara to be "lost", we throroughly searched the room numerous times but didn't find it, and it wasn't somewhere inbetween my luggage upon return.. strange.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-isabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamasFazekas, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Linda-Isabella,

Thank you very much for your time, leaving such a detailed review. We sincerely apologize if you were not fully satisfied with your stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest. We would like to assure you that we are keeping the same high standards in all rooms and throughout the hotel, therefore we are grateful for your full description so we can thoroughly investigate the circumstances. The inconvenient experience in the Spa could have happened due to miscommunication for which we would like to apologize again. The Jacuzzi was under some slight maintenance, thus it was out of order for a couple of days.
We are delighted to hear however that you found our personnel helpful and that you were fond of our breakfast selection.
We truly hope that you will soon repeat your Budapest stay when we will have a chance to spoil you with a real Buddha-Bar Experience. In this case please send your email directly to my attention: tamas.fazekas@buddhabarhotel.com.

Yours sincerely,
Tamás Fazekas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarthe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service is 5 star international but in addition is genuinely friendly. (It even extended to a manager driving me across the Danube and translating while I reported the theft of my wallet.)

We had a very good bargain rate so the value for money was huge. Our room was large & luxurious. The food, both breakfast & restaurant was excellent. (The restaurant specialises in far-east, especially Japanese food.)

The hotel is 300 metres from the riverside and good for reaching most places on foot. Even easier if use the public transport, trams, metro and buses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assumptaSarthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your time, telling about your nice experience. We are glad that your were satisfied with our services and that we were able to help you with your troubles with translation. Glad to hear that you had a chance to explore entirely the world of Buddha-Bar and hope that you will be returning soon.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived at the Buddha Bar Hotel and found out that we had been upgraded (we had originally booked the Deluxe Room) to an executive room due to a fully booked hotel. The room was really nice and large. Bed was soft and we had to small balconies (although very little view).

All the small bits and pieces were in place, and the room was clean. The only thing we had to say about the room, was that the wardrobe and sitting loung area got a bit dark after nightfall. But overall, the room was really nice!

The staff were all really friendly, they were ready for you when you arrived and easy to talk to and understand. Good walkthough of the hotel and rooms. Able to assist in the small inquirers we had! We never tried the spa department, so can not say anything with regards to the area.

The breakfast was good, although the hot dishes took a while to arrive (Probably because there were a lot of guests). Not the largest selection of cold and hot food, but what was there was very good.

Location of the hotel is excellent. Almost perfect for both shopaholics and sightseeing. If we go back to Budapest, we would like to stay in the same hotel!

Room Tip: I would think that rooms on the north side are quiter, due to a large road running on the south side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Erik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Jon-Erik,

Thank you very much for your time reviewing your Buddha-Bar stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice experience at our centrally located hotel and were fond of our services and our staff. The executive room is indeed nice and spacious and is equipped to provide a homey atmosphere topped up with some extras for the unforgettable experience.

Hope that you will soon return to Budapest and we will have a change again to welcome you to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located right next to the pedestrian shopping street Vaci Utca. The sightseeing bus stops a block away at Astoria...the staff will show you where, A little tricky to find by car due to all the construction in the city. The hotel doesn't have parking itself but has an arrangement with a parking garage and the valet will take care of it for you. Breakfast was very good but I didn't try the restaurant as it's quite expensive. The rooms and atmosphere of the place are quite unique.
Subdued lighting, Asian furnishings, relaxing music. Service is first-rate. It's expensive by Budapest standards but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slangevar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnikoBak, Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear,

Many thanks for taking your time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Glad that you had a nice holiday in Budapest and that you had a chance to explore the beauties of the city starting from the centrally located Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest.

Hope that you will soon return to Budapest and we will have an other chance to spoil you with a special Buddha-Bar holiday.

Kind Regards,
Eniko Bak
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,354 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing