We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I booked the hotel as a suprise for my girlfriend her birthday and emailed quite a lot with the front office to prepare a unforgetable stay in Budapest. I stayed in a lot hotels, this hotel is as it presents itself on their website. The staff is very very friendly and helpful. In advance of my stay they helped me finding restaurants and make reservations, arranged a limo for the ride from the airport to the hotel for a more than resonable price. And We were upgraded to the junior suite! There was a handwritten note from the manager and a fresh fruits in the suite when we arrived.

The restaurants they recommended were excellent, also the hotel restaurant is great. I loved the sushi, but also the lunches are very good and very affordable.

The first day there were some issues with the multimedia system but that was resolved the same evening.

Next visit to Budapast I will most certainly book the Buddha-bar hotel again!


Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy we could participate to the birthday gift to your girlfriend and prepare your stay as well as nice activities for You.
Looking forward entertaining you again in Budapest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    448
    129
    34
    23
See reviews for
161
961
61
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautifull new modern hotel in real center, welcome drink in buddha bar is a nice touch, small, but nice and clean spa, excellent breakfast - very attentive waitress in breakfast area. We rally enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. The whole hotel is decorated in a dark red/black with warm low lighting, much similar to that of a spa or cinema.
Reception and check in was smooth with no problems.
Overall the hotel was also very clean.

Location - the hotel is situated in the upmarket area of town, which big shops near by such as pull and bear, mango, bershka etc. The metro is also right outside the hotel. It took us around 30 minutes from the airport via taxi, and should cost no more than 5000 HUF. (£15)

For restaurant recommendations - see my other reviews. The restaurant nearby is called Százéves Étterem I believe, it was amazing, with a live string quartet!

The entire hotel is very dark, the lighting does not change at night. It was quite hard at times to navigate around the room even with the brightest lights on. The rooms are very spacious, with lots of space for luggage and clothing etc. There is a mini bar with complimentary coffee. A complimentary cocktail is also provided on arrival as are bottled water and chocolates.

The bathroom is spacious, with robes, slippers and toiletries, however the bath has only a tiny glass screen and the shower leaks all over the floor, which is not only frustrating but annoying at a 5* hotel. There is also no spy hole in the bedroom door?? Although considering the darkness outside, I'm not sure how much you could see out of a spy hole anyway, haha.
Breakfast is nice, continental and eggs/pancakes included, Bacon/sausage etc is all extra. Soya milk was also available.

We ate one night in the Buddha resaurant (asian/thai cuisine) which was very nice. Good service, great food, nice atmosphere.

The main thing about this hotel, is that due to the decor and theme, it is quiet at mealtimes and in general, which is nice and calming.

We did have a problem on two nights...with noise from the bar on the sixth floor. We were on the 4th floor. Both nights there was very loud music, and thumping bass, which went on until 1am. We phoned reception who said that no one had ever complained before, they were very helpful and did try to turn the music down twice, I would maybe ask to be on the third floor as the restaurant and lounge is on the 1st floor, so at least on the 3rd you are in the middle!! Overall it was quiet though,

Spa - warm spa bath, plunge pool, steam room (broken), and two saunas, fitness room and massage also available. Very nice area. Just a couple of suggestions, the thermal pool smelt very strongly of chlorine? In a spa, this is quite off putting, it would be nice if ozone or natural waters had been used? Also the light changes colour in the spa bath almost every 2 seconds, which turns it from a relaxing bath into some kind of ibiza pool party!

Overall a nice hotel, no major complaints. A few tweaks, and it would be very nice. =)

Room Tip: Try the third floor,and ask to be put away from the lift/staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambernectar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a weekend city break in Budapest with my friends, and during our sightseeing walk we entered to Buddha Bar for a refreshing drink... Than we spent here a couple of hours, and finally it was our best experience at the weekend. Thanks for the fantastic drinks, and a special thank for Mr Andras Lakezi, the bar manager, whose team gave us a stunning service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time spent in publishing your review. Happy that you liked very much our Lounge, and your positive impression has been forwarded to Andras as per your feed-back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a succession of small snags as a resort of the hotels recent opening, which is why we have given the hotel a 'very good' as opposed to an 'excellent', most of these were sorted out quickly and efficiently although it was a bit annoying to have to use the gym at another hotel even if they did provide transport.
The hotel is in a great location, the suites generous and well equipped, the decor is great and the beds comfortable. Room service is quick and they will bring you milk at no extra charge to go with the coffee machine in your room.
The restaurant is a must for one evening at least, ask for a table in front of the giant Buddha and not off to the side, I would recommend preceding this with a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westhorp-Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Yesterday me and my best friend spent an unforgettable evening in Buddha Bar Lounge. I can recommend the bar, exotic environment, excellent service, nice people. Special thanks to András Lakézi, who helped us in the course of the evening. Thank you for a wonderful evening! We hope we can get back up there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feed-back about our Ladies night, every Friday and Saturday between 21h00 and 22h00. Very successful with the most elegant and beautiful Budapest and travelling ladies in town !
Wish to see you next week-end,

Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely rooms, lovely bar, lovely breakfast, great location. Unfortunately all ruined by a horrible receptionist who clearly didn't approve of the rate we had paid via a booking site. There was an error on our booking to do with a double booking, but the agent was aware and was sorting it out. I got 3 quite nasty calls from reception regarding this, which worried me and ruined our one night stay.

They also tried to bill us over £100 for a meal we never had and for breakfast which was included. Poor organisation and too many arguments about money on holiday!

Worse, I have emailed the hotel and head office 3 times to feed this back and I have not had any kind of reply.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear AL and CL,

Thanks for feed-back for our receptionist that tried to help you, while you did a double booking through Agoda on internet yourself. As a result of your double booking non refundable, already paid on-line to Agoda that we can't do anything about, you claimed at reception upon check in that it was fixed with Agoda which was not because they did not want to refund you as per what they considered your mistake and as per their policy you accepted.

Our receptionist did not give up and called several times the local Agoda representative to help even though she normaly can't make any correction in your personal on line agency booking, and finally made them refund your second booking.

We transmitted your warm thank you to the receptionist that helped you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing