We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard, good food and very sentral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High standard, good food and very sentral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Perfect...Brand new! Close to everything, very Nice 24/7 meny and roomservice, good minibar, great sound and entertainmentsystem, in room spa...High standard. The only thing....they work slow in the reception....so be patient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    438
    128
    34
    24
See reviews for
158
948
60
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice design hotel in a great location right on the edge of the pedestrian area of Vaci Utca in Budapest, next to the Erzebet Bridge. Very helpful front desk staff is happy to take time and show you where to go and help you get bookings and reservations. We got upgraded to room 214, a suite-like room with 3 balconies. Situated on the "noisy" side of the hotel all noise was drowned out by double doors and double glazing. Great amenities in the room (free Nespresso...,, digital TV, free fast WiFi, etc). Space age toilet is an attraction in itself. Breakfast is very expensive (€25!!) but there are many cafes around where coffee and nice rolls are cheap and good.We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.
The adjacent Buddha-Bar Lounge is a nice place to chill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your rewarding review.
We are happy you really enjoyed, and took into consideration your feed-back with Breakfast price. Our Executive Chef increased the variety of the dishes available, and I am sure you noticed that all hot dishes (omelette, scrambled eggs, pan cakes, etc ...) are included.

We are preparing big party on Friday at the Buddha Bar Lounge ! See you soon there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Buddha-bar Hotel was one of the most beautiful hotels that I've been to. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have comfy beds and immaculate facilities. The staff are professional yet warm and welcoming. Breakfast was included in our price and there was a great array of food to choose from, as well as a hot food menu. A great selection of bars and restaurants and is right in the centre of everything as well as close to train and bus routes.
The only down fall was the health spa was a biy pokey for a 5 star hotel. Tiny changing facitilies and rather than a relaxation room you had to sit in the reception while waiting for a massage. Haveing said that the massage itself was amazing and helped redeem the spa experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We did not book this hotel but were transferred to it as our original hotel had over-booked. We were not disappointed. Converted from a palace built for Princess Klotild in 1903 the hotel only opened in 2012. See interesting before and after photos (1907/2012) at www.flickr.com/photos/tetramesh/7545671984 . The hotel has a great location one block from the Elizabeth Bridge and backing onto Vaci Utca (the main shopping street) across the road from Marks & Spencer.
Check-in was a little slow as there are only two desks and we were taken to the room by the receptionist. I would imagine there could be quite a delay if you arrived just behind a large party. A complimentary cocktail was offered but we declined as we had a restaurant booking and were pushed for time. We actually had it after we checked out the next day.
The bedroom was of a decent size with two armchairs. (Why do so many hotels only have one comfortable chair in a double room?) Although we were on the side of the hotel with a busy road there was no traffic noise. All the controls were not for the technically challenged being multi-functional. We only stayed one night and by the time we left had just about conquered the controls for the large flat screen TV which came with several languages and sorting of TV channels by type of programme. However we never totally mastered the combination light switches/dimmers and did not even attempt to use the remote control for the combined toilet/bidet ! The oriental decor and furnishings were quite dark and heavy, not totally to everyone's taste. The bathroom had a very large walk-in rain forest shower but no bath. Underfloor heating and a heated loo seat !! But why does the razor socket have to be hidden away inside a drawer under the wash basin ?
Buffet style breakfast with eggs available on request was excellent and lots of staff keeping the tables cleared.
One complaint was that there was no folder in the room with information on the hotel services but we were told on departure this could be accessed from the TV - I guess we didn't find that channel !
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and spoke good English. We were allowed to keep the room beyond normal check out time until 2pm without any extra charge. Good wi-fi reception in the bedroom and lounge again free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highland-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I Stayed in the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest for 4 nights in September 2012. I travel alone. I booked breakfast included rate and I got an excellent deal through a travel site.

POSITIVES:

1- The hotel is brand new (with only a few months of operation) into a formidable classical building really nice. For a tourist visiting Budapest it is a key location.

2- All service staff is very young, very correct and watches everything.

3- With that bargain rate I received a room divided into two floors. Downstairs: the living room with a large TV with great connectivity, fitted with a Nespresso machine and a very large bathroom with underfloor heating, a sophisticated electronic toilet with various functions, bath and shower. Upstairs, the real bedroom with another large TV and a king size bed quite comfy.

This room was very elegant but for me it was not very comfortable using steps so, after two nights, I requested a change to a regular room. It was smaller but equally equipped.

4- Breakfast much more complete than it initially seems . With several waitresses always outstanding. You can order dishes a la carte.

5- With my bargain rate value was excellent.

NEGATIVES:

- The concept of oriental decor with dark wood furniture and walls, ceilings and floors in very dark colors. This makes the natural light will be lost and in spite of the good artificial lighting you have the sensation of darkness. This is a appreciation due my particular taste.

If you like that concept then it is perfect. If you appreciate the natural light and open space, then this is not your hotel. The usual clientele that I saw was quite young.

WOULD I COME BACK AGAIN?

I think so. Especially with fare on offer. In regular prices for a 5 star hotel I may elect one of the classics of Budapest. All the major hotels are very close to each other at the feet of the Danube ... In the wonderful Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
409 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 769 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My first night in Budapest I came here for drinks with my husband. The bartender was super friendly and told me about DJ Ravin appearing at their grand opening party. I was lucky enough to get my name on a list to reserve a table that night. What a blast!!! That was one of the best nights in Budapest!
The drinks are some of the best cocktails I've had. Be sure to get the Mami Taylor, the Ultimate, the Majestic and Spicy Pineapple Martini. In retrospect, I wish I spent more money staying at this hotel instead. My only issue was that it felt too warm in the bar area. They could have kicked up the AC a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuddhaBarEast, General Manager at Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feed-back !
Happy to read you were here for our Opening Party 2 weeks ago, with RAVIN ... and he will come back to perform in Budapest.
I agree it was too warm, but unusual attendance this day, we have addressed this the the maintenance Manager to make sure we can have more AC power for this type of events.
Thanks also for your nice advise on our cocktails ! This place is not just a new Hotel, it is a lifestyle. Thanks for being in the mood with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just recently got back from our trip to Budapest and we stayed here for 3 nights. I'll break our review up into 2 parts: The hotel and the restaurant.

FIRST, the hotel - The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We checked in a few days before their official grand opening. We found that the staff was still trying to acquire their sea legs, running around a little harried, and a bit off their game. That being said, they were very attentive and provided complimentary drinks upon our arrival. The porter was great, friendly, provided a quick guided tour of the hotel and our room. Also the staff at the front desk, café, and restaurant have EXCELLENT English skills, so it was easy to communicate… not sure so much about the rest of the staff though. The rooms were very nice, modern décor, well decorated, taking notes from Asian style and color choices (lucky Chinese red). There are plenty of light switches from which to confuse yourself with though. Very modern layout and design, Japanese styled toilet with remote control and heated seat (booyah!), an interactive Smart-TV, mood lighting, fridge, surround sound speakers in the room as well as the bathroom, etc. The only real problem we had was with the shower... it leaks and by leaks I mean floods... it’s really an accident waiting to happen. Every time we showered it was like experiencing the biblical flood from Noah’s time. Okay, maybe that is a bit of an exaggeration; however, we had to mop up the epic water deluge from under the sink, around the shower stall, and near the toilet every morning with whatever towels we could scrounge up. It was like the shower stall wasn’t properly sealed. All in all the room was still very nice, quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. Despite the minor issue with the shower, I still recommend this place as it scores high in other categories.

SECOND - Buddha-Bar Restaurant - a restaurant providing a fusion of various Asian cuisines. The food was OK, nothing special (I've had better from our local hole-in-the-wall restaurant down the street from our house). For the amount of money we spent on our meal, I would have expected not to get wooden disposable chopsticks (assuming you are inclined to use them, otherwise they do provide silverware). The only problem with our meal on the first night was our order of dim sum, it came over-steamed and was a bit dry. However, the service was still good and the waitress was very attentive.

A few extra tips:
1) Ask for extra towels, you'll need it for trips to the public baths (try the
Szechenyi baths)!
2) Also try the kürtőskalács across the street next to all the shops (very yummy) and you get a discount if you have the Budapest card!
3) Get the Budapest card, you'll get discounts on some things as well as unlimited travel on subways and public transit
4) The hotel staff will help you book events, so use them whenever possible to make it easier and ease any language barriers that may exist
5) See the House of Terror, an excellent museum

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_Automaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace

Property: Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Address: Vaci utca 34, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Not just another hotel, it's a lifestyle..." Is the motto of the brand new, fantastically located, truly unique 5-star Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. Dashing luxury and pampering comfort awaits at the 2nd hotel of the world-wide famous, trendy Buddha-Bar concept hotel. It boasts an excellent setting at the foot of the Elisabeth Bridge, in a charming historic building from the 19th century, at the corner of the capital's number-one pedestrian shopping street, Vaci utca. Faithful to the brand, a number of exciting dining venues comprehend to the entire Buddha-Bar experience that is a feast for the senses. The owners of the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace are Sameer Hamdan and Zuhair Awad, owners and CEOs of Mellow Mood Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing