We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hostel”
Review of Treestyle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treestyle Hostel
Ranked #92 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed March 18, 2014

clean, small kitchen with no much things to use but ok, small bathrooms, nice showers, bad internet connection (not terrible), every morning there's a girl who cleans everything but the rooms haha it was ok. ohhh and there was a guy in the reception who got upset and was not really helpful...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosCorreaVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel, really comfortable, great showers and facilities, good vibe, great location, really helpful staff. It's a really great location to see the whole city and there's some good restaurants, cafés and bars around. Also a really reasonable price. Would definitely recommend

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Cale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The most innovative hostel i've stayed in. From a electronic badge to open doors and how they fit an awesome shower in less than a square meter to awesome ceiling lightnig and nice wall decoration. Kind helpful staff and good accomodation(kichen, bathroom, common room) topped it off.
Also the location wast exactly in the centre but not far at all and quite near a metro stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanderGeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hostel is very modern and the kitchen is really good. The location is good, near pubs and clubs, and not far from the metro. But, the bathrooms are so small that you cannot move, the light is automatic and if you are a small person this light is always turning off. The staff is not as nice as they could be. And, in our case, they made us pay the all room even thought we weren't enough and when we asked the prices they told us one, and when we payed it was another one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Ester V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Treestyle is an average hostel, It's clean enough, the rooms are comfortable and not
too small. The bathrooms are a bit of a problem because the shower is not properly
separated from the rest of the bathroom, but it's a minor inconvenience...the staff is nice
and efficient, the owner is definitively trying to make an effort to run it properly. The price is
truly reasonable, I guess you can say it's cheap. The location is extremely convenient, it's
within walking distance to a lot of interesting tourist places and it's near several subway stations.
The only issue I would like to point out is the fact that the locks on the doors are not reliable, the last night we were there, I left my iPhone (almost new) to charge while we went out for a bite to
eat -I thought it safe to leave it there since it was only for 15 minutes or so...short story, somebody stole it along with a bag (which fortunately didn't have any valuables inside. I know,
it was partly my fault -I shouldn't have left it there, but I thought I was in a safe place, I have stayed at hostels in many other cities with no incidents whatsoever...the police
was totally inept I must say, they didn't even make an enquiry for example ask the other guests, look around, etc. It's ironic that you choose to stay at a hostel in order to save...and you wind up losing a lot of money...In conclusion, if you decide to stay at this hostel (or probably any other hostel, for that matter) DON'T leave any valuables in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Disclosure: This was my first stay at a Hostel, but I have stayed in many lodges, hotels, motels and even a cubicle at an airport once!

I visited the Treestyle Hostel in Budapest from Friday to Sunday, late in February 2013.

Positives: Located near many bars, restaurants and shops. Close to many clubs. Budapest is not a huge city, so everything is close, relatively speaking. The staff were great and spoke English and were great at answering questions and making recommendations on where to go and where to eat! I was part of a large group of international students (~40) traveling together, and we filled up the majority of the Hostel. My smaller group within the group reserved the 11 person suite, and ended up paying less than a dozen Euros per person for both nights.

Negatives: Budapest is not an easy city to navigate with it's narrow streets and poor street signage. Get a map and have your directions before you get there! The Treestyle was not easy to find. On top of that, I would avoid walking alone in the area without being part of a group as the area seems a bit sleazy.

While the 11 person suite we stayed in had a kitchen and two bathrooms with showers, one of the bathroom's showers did not work, forcing all 11 of us to take turns with 1 shower. On top of that, on Saturday morning, there was no hot water, making for a miserable start to a cold and rainy day out.

While it is probably true of most hostels, noise is always an issue, and it is not out of the ordinary for parties to go all night. Do not expect the staff to keep things quiet because noise is the norm in that environment. There is also noise from the street and all the bars nearby to deal with as well.

Overall: It really depends on who you are and what kind of trip you are expecting. If you enjoy partying and want a place you can do so after the bars close, and want a cheap and clean place to stay, then this hostel is for you. If you want a quiet place to unwind after a busy day with or without family, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a good location and close to all the sights.
Staff were fantastic and willing to help with any needs.
Good value for money.Close to walking tour and bars.

BUT !!!!!!
i FOUND LOCAL PEOPLE WILL RIP YOU OFF AT ANY OPPORTUNITY.
LOCAL SHOPS,BARS DINING OUTLETS,

Be carefull with you money and allways note what you hand over and recieve

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with onsuites 4/6 bed doorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 334 in Budapest
205 reviews
Terézváros
Interflat Youth Hostel
Interflat Youth Hostel
#356 of 672 in Budapest
38 reviews
District V / Inner City
Central Backpack King
Central Backpack King
#78 of 672 in Budapest
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#108 of 672 in Budapest
79 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#31 of 672 in Budapest
355 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#33 of 672 in Budapest
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treestyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treestyle Hostel

Address: Wesselenyi utca 32, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $15 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Treestyle Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are visiting Budapest and looking for a friendly place to stay in, in the heart of the city, there is no need to look any further. The Treestyle Hostel is an eco-friendly, clean, recently renovated hostel awaiting guests for more than 2 years now. Clean rooms, never-ending supply of hot water, comfortable beds, free WIFI, a well equipped dining and common rooms make our hostel an ideal place to stay while visiting Budapest.Most of the inner-city sights and tourist-locations are close by and reaching these public transportation stops couldn't be easier. We are just 3 minutes away from the main metro lines, night buses and trams, so we provide an ideal base for exploring not only Budapest's rich past but it's vibrant, colorful present as well, like the beautiful building of the Parliament or the Basilica and many more which are well worth the visit.Our friendly staff is always at your disposal to help you with directions or just ask us about the current events which are around the city are ones that you don't want to miss out on.We care about the environment; we live in a “Treestyle” way using environmental friendly methods in housekeeping and cleaning.We are just 5 minutes away from the world famous ruin pubs in a city that barely ever sleeps. We are the perfect place for people looking to have some fun and explore the capital city of Hungary.Please note : Minimum night stay : 2 nightsCancellation policy : 24hCheck in : 15.00Check out : 11.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Treestyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing