We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in Budapest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Sushi

Planet Sushi
Ranked #1,098 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Budapest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Best sushi in Budapest!
Miso Shiro soup and Planet Set are very good. Kanki and Domino are very tasty.
The staff is very friendly.
The location is great!
Thank you Planet Sushi!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabika73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    27
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good start...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are in Hungary for the first time. Planet sushi took our fancy, so we set out with high hopes. Not a great start to the Planet Sushi experience. The initial welcome was pleasant enough and we ordered Miso soup and drinks while we looked at the menu. The drinks took a long time to arrive (we were thirsty having walked from our hotel). We asked another employee, not dressed in Japanese kimonos, but hovering as a manager, if our drinks would be long. A shrug of the shoulders and an offhand, 'I don't know, the waitress is getting them.' did not start the evening well and has blown any chance of a tip for them (other than, if you are in charge, be polite and damn well find out where the drinks are!). It is not crowded, so really, no excuse for the slowness and offhand attitude! OK, the miso soup was nice (nicer than the manager's attitude).

Ordered a second beer when the food arrived. The food was good, but the beer never arrived so now we have decided to go back to the hotel for a beer and a nightcap. Their loss! 

So what could have been a good sushi in a nice restaurant is spoiled by the service. If you want food, great, if you want food and drink, beware!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not sure Sushi is the way to go in Budapest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My daughter had a craving for sushi, so we went here. The service was slow, the sushi was ok (not bad, just not something to seek out).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Now very affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Right now they have an offer where you get a soup and a main course or maki for 2250HUF or a Soup, Main course or maki and a dessert for 2950 HUF. Details here: http://www.planetsushi.hu/2012/03/2-3-course-menu
The food is really good quality and the Service is also good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gyorigabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst sushi I've ever eaten”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Visitet Budapest in march with 3 friends on an anual short vacation. We always eat sushi and has a long track record in eastern europe with sushi restaurants.

We went to Planet sushi saturday night at around eight. From outside it looked good. Interior is nice, service very friendly, menu great looking and our expectations therefore high. There were few other customers.

We ordered a large menu to share and some sideorders. Price level are like Denmark. Almost every piece of sushi was of a quality, I have never had before.

Rice was overcooked and cold - seems like most of the sushi came from the fridge. Most pices of writefish we could not chew. The tuna on my nigiri was so thin it looked as if it was paintet on the rice. Worst of all the overall quality was bad. For the first time ever I feared eating raw fish.

We told the manager, he apologised, said he was surpriced and offered a cup of coffee. We left quickly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Sushi also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Planet Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing