We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Monuments to the Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerepesi Cemetery

Kerepesi Cemetery
Fiumei ut 16, Budapest 1086, Hungary
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 364 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Monuments to the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Kerepesi is more than a cemetery. It's laid out more like a park than a cemetery. It's also very peaceful, despite being close to a busy road.
For a long time it was closed to public burials and only high ranking and policial official were allowed to be buried there. Nearly all have a statue/monument as a gravestone.
As you go in, on the left the first graves are a memorial to some of those killed in 1956 uprising - the people were all so young.
The two great mausaleums are very ornate and there are some strange statues throughout the cemetery.
Look out for the woman holding a skull, and the large bird headstone (goto the mausaleums, turn left and walk to the end of the avenue of trees)
Easily spent 2-3 hours wandering around, listening to the birds singing, taking photos and enjoying the works of art.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You must make time to stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I know the question: What's the big deal about a cemetery? But this place is part park, part open-air museum, and part Budapest history lesson. I visited here several years ago for less than an hour and felt like I missed so much. This time, I literally wandered the grounds for hours marveling at the statues -- some beautiful, many extremely eerie. Entire sections are devoted to students killed during the 1956 revolution. A number of their gravestones include fading photos. There is a museum on the grounds as well that offers a look at Hungarian burial traditions. Displays include horse-drawn hearses and colorfully decorated caskets. This is a unique experience that is off the well-trod tourist path, but it will be one of the highlights of a visit to Budapest. The cemetery is so large that you will be able to appreciate it in peace, with no crowds. The experience will remain with you after others have faded. A map (in Hungarian) is available at the gate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delighted I went”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Final day of a one week holiday in Budapest, and decided to do the cemetery not expecting much. It's actually a really great cemetery, huge, with some interesting sculptural works. Not as good as Mirogoj in Zagreb, but perhaps on par with Pere Lachaise, though Kerepesi is much more spread out. A bit out of the way, but free to enter, and I only saw 3 other people in the two hours I walked around. Stumbled across Odon Lechner's grave (Hungary's 'Gaudi') by chance, and I'm sure there are plenty of other interesting and famous residents, though my guide book didn't even mention the cemetery.

You can enter on the West side. The whole area as per Google maps in the cemetery, though the Northern section is presently undergoing some kind of construction. Large sections are unfilled, and several sections are the normal bland gravestones, but there are perhaps 1,000-1,500 interesting grave stones. Drinks machine at entrance, and a flower-seller.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pooyousir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really got overwhelmed....
Visited other big and known cemeteries but this one is different.
Lots of statues full of emotions on the old graves.
The grave of Blaha Lujza is the most beautiful I've ever seen and it really touched me.
Go there, look around and get impressed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank raffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Massive green cemetery/park with impressive tombs, but located in less pretty area of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited this cemetery during winter and snowfall, which added a sad but real atmosphere to it.
It's a huge clean, quiet, silent and green walking area, almost a parc, with massive tombs and monuments, surrounded by bigger buildings however but you don't have the impression as the cemetery is really that big (i guess 1000*1000 meters).
It's authentic, as you won't find many tourists here, as the place is located in a less pretty and more "industrial suburb" environment (subway = Keleti), although we did not feel unsafe or so, it just a less pretty area.
But don't let this put you off, if you enjoy a little bit of "adventure" and want to see something nice off the beaten track, then please do visit this place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter VDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerepesi Cemetery also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kerepesi Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing