We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant near Hotel Zenith Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szazeves Restaurant

Szazeves Restaurant
Ranked #165 of 3,048 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $54
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: The Hundred Years Old Restaurant which is hosted the oldest restaurant in Budapest in 1831, opened in the heart of the ground floor of a baroque palace. 80 Guests can enjoy the finest Hungarian and international cuisine and the most excellent wines from Hungary in the contemporary atmosphere, rustic furnishing and an elegant environment. In the evening candlelight and pleasant gypsy music completes the gastronomic experience.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant near Hotel Zenith Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were lucky to come across this traditional restaurant and to find place without a reservation.. The food was excellent. A band played traditional Hungarian music which added to the atmosphere. The restaurant has survived the WW2 and is full of tradition. I would definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pampoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    274
    96
    53
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The oldest restaurant in Budapest..the menu of the day caught our eye...stick to this for 10e otherwise if you take the waiters recomendation it will end up costing you 100e with a couple of beers and a couple of wines.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
780 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“A traditional Hungarian meal in a traditional setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Oddly, this restaurant is owned by the City Council, or so we were told by our waiter who spoke excellent English and who served us impeccably. But don't think you are going to eat in some municipal canteen! The building was closed on my last few visits to Budapest, as it has been extensively renovated and returned to look as it would have done in the Victorian period. You can find it easily, off a side road of Vaci Utca, so it is very central. It is down a few steps and has a large and heavy wooden door to open. Once through a small lobby, there appeared to be three dining rooms of varying size. A trio were playing traditional Hungarian music, which added to the atmosphere. We had been snacking all day - the many picturesque Christmas markets are good for that - and only wanted a main course. I initially plumped for a selection of Hungarian sausages but my waiter steered me away from them, saying only 70-year olds ate such dishes these days. I actually love Hungarian sausage, but one of those he described sounded like a Black pudding, so not a dish I would normally select. I then asked for the schnitzel, but was told this was not Hungarian (I did know that but thought, with the Empire and all...) Finally, I selected an absolutely delicious pancake stuffed with veal and potatoes in a creamy sauce. My companion had some noisettes of lamb, wrapped in bacon, with a side dish of mixed vegetables (which he said could have had more flavour) and some rice. His glass of white was a reasonable £5. My glass of red, at an unreasonable £10, was not worth it. I wanted a smooth merlot and this wasn't it, although I did not bother to complain as our lovely waiter had recommended it to me especially... We finished with a coffee each, mine being a good decaf espresso. The total bill came to £35, with service included.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely food good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant in March 2012. We had been wandering around looking for somewhere to eat when we came across Szazeves. We were not disappointed! Yes it was more expensive than other restaurants that we ate in but the food was very good, the wine was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our tokay based aperitif and the glass of tokay to go with dessert ! We found the staff to be polite and pretty friendly considering how busy they were and the live band added to a nice atmosphere. It didn't appear to be just a 'tourist place' as there were a lot of locals eating. We tried to go back a couple of nights later but it was fully booked.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nigelnhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoyed the cosy booth and restaurant layout. The food was tasty although some dishes may benefit from potatoes rather than French fries. The local gypsy band was good although a little loud.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szazeves Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Szazeves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing