We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Fast Food Chinese”
Review of Tao Budapest

Tao Budapest
Ranked #1,449 of 3,760 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed June 5, 2016

I was looking for a fast dinner so that I could catch up on sleep and jet lag. This was near my hotel and looked okay. I had the Duck with 5 Ingredient Tastes and it was awful. The only taste I could find seemed to be a bad sweet and sour sauce. I never taste duck or anything else. The rice was warm but the duck dish was definitely not. Don't go there.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Paul9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2016

Chinese Buffets are pretty plentiful around the city but tend to be rather average. Not this place! The food is fresh and not too greasy; which it a rarity among such venues in Budapest. Select your dished and sided and pay at the till. 1400 forint will get you a big plate of food and a beer. The service is prompt- and they expect you to be prompt and not dither about like a lost sheep.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SebRakThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

Terrible servise and terrible food. It is cheap, that is true. But for this quality does not worth any money. The tipical place where you feel the service is a favour and you should be greatfull to get your food for your money. Absolutely not recommended place.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Eszter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

One of the best Chinese food in town. The menu was pretty much the same with others but it was good.
I ordered the miso soup and it was pretty good. The price was worth the quality, you can ask for smaller portion if you like.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank imsml101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

It is ideal for a fast meal, but when i visit it around 8 pm on Sunday it hasn't big variety on foods. Only 1 type of soup and 4 kinds of main courses with chicken. I think is a bit wrong for an asian restaurant located in such a touristic district. The food was good though, the staff friendly but the big minus is that the restaurant only accept cash. Please guys! But the overall experience was ok!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank xelageorgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Tao Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.