We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Book Cafe - Lotz Terem
Ranked #1 of 202 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Came in for coffee and cakes after chilly bus tour of the city. Beautiful surroundings and not at all expensive - paid the equivalent of about £9 for whiskey hot chocolate, caramel cappucino and 2 delicious cakes. Will be back for a second visit before we leave the city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scb187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    304
    74
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had been told about this café and searched it out its easy to miss as its a large modern bookshop downstairs. Its only when you go up the escalators to the top floor your jaw drops at whats in front of you..a beautiful ballroom with fantastic ceilings and chandeliers a large piano and huge leather armchairs. We had coffee which was fine but what I felt a very mediocre brie and Parma ham toasty, it really was nothing special and not what I was expecting for the price and surroundings. The cakes and pastries did look much better. But whatever you think of the food its worth it to sit in such a wonderful building ..you must go and see for yourself

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FUSSYBUTFAIRLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful room to have a fab hot chocolate”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Fantastic cafe. Amazing hot chocolate and delicious cake. For 3 drinks and 2 cakes we paid 3400 ft which we thought was reasonable considering surroundings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank stonesourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Opulent surroundings, average sandwich”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We sought out the Book Café after reading reviews online and it is quite something to enter a bookshop then discover a grand ballroom area at the top of an escalator. Worth going to admire the chandeliers and painted ceiling, however my toasted cheese and ham sandwich was distinctly average - I would have hoped for some nice brie or similar, but it was of the plastic square variety and a little bit of a let down given the grand surroundings. Having said that, a beer was a decent price (too hot for coffee when we went!) and my boyfriend said his brownie with ice cream was excellent. Perhaps best to stick to the sweet side of the menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jemmajane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely room. Coffee and cake all seemed very good quality, more expensive than most in Budapest but very reasonable. Make sure you ask for a token if you need the loo! It's in the Alexandra book shop up the escalator. Not to be missed for a pit stop.

Helpful?
Thank katie_did108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Cafe - Lotz Terem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Book Cafe - Lotz Terem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing