We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine Bar”
Review of Kadarka wine bar

Kadarka wine bar
Ranked #116 of 3,234 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: You can taste more than 40 Hungarian famous, popular and traditional wines and have some snacks in a friendly athmosphere. There is a special sale price for wine to get away.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Wine Bar”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great selection of wines. Staff is very professional and friendly.They will be happy to assist if you cant decide what to order.
Food is okay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkX86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    66
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and excellent service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Kadarka is one of my favourite wine bars in Budapest: cozy atmosphere, great food and wines, excellent customer service. Their pogácsa (a Hungarian speciality similar to bread) is probably the best in town and this is a great place to spend a hot summer evening in Budapest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The place to learn about Hungarian wines”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We cannot say enough great things about this little wine bar and owner Laurenczy Arpad! Our waitress from dinner suggested that we visit after noticing our interest in Hungarian wines and what a great experience it was. Laurenczy spent a great deal of time talking to us and educating us about Hungarian wines and wine regions. We tasted a bunch of wine for an incredibly fair price. This was one of our top experiences in Budapest. The friendly staff, awesome wines, and great value make this a must do when in Budapest. If you are looking for a place to get a great sampling and education on Hungarian wines, you will be very impressed (especially if you are a wine aficionado). Just tell Laurenczy what direction you want your wine tour to take and let him take from there. Don't miss out on the Pastor Rose if it is a warm day - refreshing,but with some nice depth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samlmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Popular wine bar”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My first time in the bar wasn't real wine tasting as we have already had some before and just wanted something fresh. We have tried the "must fröccs" wich was tasty and refreshening - just as I've expected.
The bar seemed to be very popular, by 10 pm it was packed with people. The design and athmosphere is ok but could be much more intimate and trendy - for example with different style of seats. All together I think the prices are very good comparing to other places in the downtown area and the service was satisfying as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinity19812016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“They really know how to make you feel welcome”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a guest that got locked out of the apartment me rent in Budapest. The guests went across the street to the Kadarka Wine Bar to wait for the management company to show up with the lock smith. The ownership and staff of the wine bar made them feel so welcome and at home that they almost appreciated getting locked out (almost). My wife and I had walked past the place dozens of times but never gone in, but felt an obligation to go in and have a drink and express our appreciation for the kindness to our guests. It took about 5 minutes for us to understand just how special this place is. This place should be on everyone's list a place to stop each day for at least one drink. Be sure to try the food as well. Every plate is a work of art. Thank you Kadarka and we will make sure all our guests know just how wonderful a place you have. See you again in the fall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kadarka wine bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Kadarka wine bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing