We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant, worth taking a detour”

Arnyas Restaurant & Garden
Ranked #756 of 3,207 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to a 110 years old Authentic Hungarian restaurant and garden, with a feeling of the previous turn of the century. Winter with oven and summer with chestnut trees in the GARDEN. Special Hungarian and light food. Just 5 minutes from Buda Castle by taxi, tram or bus (see our separate map). We are waiting for You with special Hungarian HOME CUISINE with FRESH SEASON menu! Also check out our new Drinks Menu! We are going to change our complete menu card every season of different vegetables, fruits, mushrooms or meat. Check more photos and videos on FACEBOOK We have a real home cuisine from fresh materials with high quality. GLUTEN FREE PALEO menu is also included for the fans of paleolithic nutrition using paleo basic materials, as fat of goose instead of oil or flour of tich instead of corn erytrit instead of sugar and we are baking paleo-bread also..
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, worth taking a detour”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant on Saturday a couple of weeks ago with some local friends. We enjoyed the food very much, even if I am not a good judge of local food, our friends said it was exactly as it should be, and they are quite demanding and knowledgeable. As for me, I found it very, very nice. The portions, by the way were huge, I couldn't finish my dish, my husband declared he would never need to eat again.

There was music, jazz. The musicians (piano and bass) were outstanding, not what you would expect in a restaurant, much, much, much better. Service was efficient, friendly and spoke excellent English.

The restaurant is a little bit off the centre, on the hills on the Buda side, you will need to take a taxi, but it is well worth the trip. Maybe this accounts for only three tables being taken, and that doesn't create a good atmosphere, the reality is that without the music it would have felt a little bit desolate, but we enjoyed the whole thing very much and will certainly go back next time we are there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank London-E-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    13
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Attempts to Become Good...”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

...but still there is room to improve. We tried it under the chestnut trees in summer, and also inside, close to the oven in winter - with friends and with family. But Árnyas always gave us less than we expected. The menu card offers seasonal specialties over and over, but most of them are not that special on the plate. And they are overpriced compared to their worth.

Recently, I tried the Midday menu which is moderately priced (~ EUR 4 / person), but culinary experience is also moderate: unimaginative dishes made of deep-frozen ingredients. In fact, quite many office workers had their lunch there, so I assume Árnyas provides this mid-level canteen meal steadily, and also the service was OK.

All in all: I am expecting more from a traditional restaurant in the 12th district of Buda.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FKL216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, low quality food without concept...”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff is simply careless - it happened several times that I wanted to have a beer at 11 pm and they were not willing to serve the drink and said they are about to close the restaurant. However the restaurant is officially open until midnight....
The food is under average and without any concept.
On Fridays (sometimes on Thursdays, too) there is live music in the restaurant but it makes the place even worse. I simply can't understand how is it allowed to play music until late night next to a hospital....
Given the conditions (nice and quiet neighborhood and big, old trees giving shadow in the Summer) the place could be a great traditional restaurant but it would require conceptual changes.
The draught beer (Paulaner) is good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Levente N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location with poor service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The restaurant is in a very good place but the service was very poor. The waiter was unpolite and the food was only OK.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special menu for paleo”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice place, nice atmosphere, nice food.
And they have special menu for paleo foods (low carb / diabetic).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnyas Restaurant & Garden also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Arnyas Restaurant & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing