We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough little cafeteria”
Review of Fakanal Restaurant

Fakanal Restaurant
Ranked #460 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: All our kind guests can find exquisite flavours, traditional Hungarian and rustic meals, abundant portions, live gipsy music, delicate types of Hungarian wine and real Hungarian cuisine in our restaurant that is situated in the heart of Budapest on the first floor of the Central Market Hall. Within the framework of the normal timetable, our restaurant is a self-service diner selling meals of Hungarian cuisine that cannot only serve the daily guests but also available for receptions of tourists or other groups.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough little cafeteria”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food was pretty good but it's a pretty basic cafeteria style eatery & I'd say a tad on the expensive side, you are paying a premium to get a seat. If you have had a long day & are in need of a break this is a decent choice for some meat & potatoes type food but otherwise I'd recommend one of the food stalls. Equally nice & lots cheaper.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgwhatkatydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    210
    90
    40
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutly best goulah soup in the Budapest”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I know this self-service restaurant for many years, they have the best goulash soup from all over Budapest (Budapest I know very well!). The other dishes are very good. Prices are not low but everything is very good quality. I recommend a visit there after visitin of market hall.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipToepfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing cafe in the market hall”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Cafeteria restaurant on the top floor of the main Market Hall. My goulash soup was tasty but had very unattractive lumps of grissle in it. My partner made the mistake of ordering a veal escalope from the chalked menu rather than the 'dishes of the day'. It was a large chewy slab of meat on a bed of boiled veg. He left most of it. There were no toilets. And to cap it all, a 'gypsy' duo played terrible music and then tried to sell their CD.
Don't be fooled by their website - it didn't look anything like that on the day of our visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreyPoundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grossly overpriced, unclean place with nasty food.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It seems the only selling point for this restaurant is that it has wine and beer. The cafeteria style line-up displayed starchy, unappealing foods and vegetables that were either so overcooked they were grey or so old they were turning brown. North Americans would be shocked by the poor quality. It's ironic that such a place would exist in one of the loveliest spots in Budapest - the Market Hall, which at that time of year (August) was bursting with fresh produce and great foods on the first floor. Avoid this place. There are plenty of wonderful places to eat in Budapest.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fakanal Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Fakanal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing