We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small irish hungarian :)”
Review of Polo Pub

Polo Pub
Ranked #648 of 3,277 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: The Polo Pub opened in 1990. After many years, wandering around the World, the owner fell in love with the atmosphere of the English pubs. Drived by this magical feeling, he founded the Polo Pub, with the atmosphere he was always in love with. Our aim is to provide wide range of quality and unique beers, combining these with the finest and oldest local recipies and meals. This place will be perfect for you, if you wish to enjoy an Irish style pub, far away from it's origins, but boosted with local specialities.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

A mixed restaurant, design like an irish pub, food hungarian. Price is very good, just as the quality of the food. We liked the live music!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank felixpisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It was a complete privilege reading your review! Thanks a million for sharing your kind thoughts here with the community. Me and the whole staff were more than delighted to read that you had a great time with us! We are very happy that our work has been appreciated - Thank you! Quality is our first priority, and you ensured us that we are on the right way!
We look forward to welcome you back soon!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Polo Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

What a find! Perfect traditional bar serving wonderful food - try the goulash in a cup or maybe the frankfurter sausage with horseradish cream .... Both very tasty.
The bar decor is all dark wood and mismatched pictures, the colour of the ceiling is stale tobacco yellow but without the smell, it all adds to the ambience. Staff too were very friendly. Great place to rest tired feet

Thank 120jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are really happy that you enjoyed the time spent here with us. Quality is our top priority, and I am glad that we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you on another occasion in our restaurant!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I found this bar / restaurant by accident, it is located in a side street not far from batthyány tér metro station. I walked past it, but turned back because I was attracted by the Guinness sign.
I didn't eat a meal here, and to me this place was more a bar than a restaurant. The bar itself is very welcoming, as are the staff, and the air conditioning was very welcome when the outdoor temperature was nearing forty degrees.
The staff were were friendly, and provided good service, with very good English.
The Guinness was excellent, as was the Jamesons. There is a good selection of other very good beers also available

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank gotravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, that we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilege to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a very cold winter night, and after much walking, this place randomly popped up unexpectedly like beacon. Hungry and cold, we went inside for a meal.

It is a small, intimate pub-style place with a nice atmosphere. The menu is very traditional. We had stuffed cabbage and paprikash. Both were good, but the paprikash stood out to both of us, actually from the entire trip.

Service was very polite and friendly, and we enjoyed every second we were there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Perluccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Your honorific review is the greatest reward for our service! We can't thank you enough for you have shared it! It would be pleasant to host you again!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

If You want to eat pork knuckles that You will remember - come here, you're not going to regret. Perfectly done - five stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aeroboogieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice a feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polo Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Polo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing