We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar - Guinness & Jamesons”
Review of Polo Pub

Polo Pub
Ranked #585 of 3,651 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: The Polo Pub opened in 1990. After many years, wandering around the World, the owner fell in love with the atmosphere of the English pubs. Drived by this magical feeling, he founded the Polo Pub, with the atmosphere he was always in love with. Our aim is to provide wide range of quality and unique beers, combining these with the finest and oldest local recipies and meals. This place will be perfect for you, if you wish to enjoy an Irish style pub, far away from it's origins, but boosted with local specialities.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I found this bar / restaurant by accident, it is located in a side street not far from batthyány tér metro station. I walked past it, but turned back because I was attracted by the Guinness sign.
I didn't eat a meal here, and to me this place was more a bar than a restaurant. The bar itself is very welcoming, as are the staff, and the air conditioning was very welcome when the outdoor temperature was nearing forty degrees.
The staff were were friendly, and provided good service, with very good English.
The Guinness was excellent, as was the Jamesons. There is a good selection of other very good beers also available

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank gotravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here! It was a complete delight to read that you had a fantastic time with us! Your praising words ensured us, that we are on the right way. Quality is our first priority, and I am very grateful that our work has been appreciated. It would be honestly a privilege to host you again, when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

On a very cold winter night, and after much walking, this place randomly popped up unexpectedly like beacon. Hungry and cold, we went inside for a meal.

It is a small, intimate pub-style place with a nice atmosphere. The menu is very traditional. We had stuffed cabbage and paprikash. Both were good, but the paprikash stood out to both of us, actually from the entire trip.

Service was very polite and friendly, and we enjoyed every second we were there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Perluccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Your honorific review is the greatest reward for our service! We can't thank you enough for you have shared it! It would be pleasant to host you again!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

If You want to eat pork knuckles that You will remember - come here, you're not going to regret. Perfectly done - five stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aeroboogieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for the nice words. We are always happy when we see our guests enjoying themselves. Our dear Chef is also always delighted to hear such nice a feedback as yours. We strive to provide excellence in gastronomy, and hopefully we can greet you again when you are next in Budapest.


With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Not fara from the Metro station a pub that you couldn´t imagine as big as it was. Entresol- etage, very good service, nice owner and entertainment while you eat the excellent food. A guitar-player.

Thank Thord G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for your review! We are glad, that you had a great time with us, and was completely delighted with our services. We hope to see you again, when next in Budapest!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

overcharged for drinks two different prices on two different nights
service terrible staff not friendly

Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts here. I was sorry to read that you weren’t satisfied with our service! We strive to provide excellence in every way, and this is not the true reflection of the services we are very proud of. We take all your words with the utmost seriousness, and we sincerely hope, that you will give us the chance to better serve you in the future.

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polo Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Polo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing