We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip off”
Review of Polo Pub

Polo Pub
Ranked #518 of 3,408 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: District I / Buda
Description: The Polo Pub opened in 1990. After many years, wandering around the World, the owner fell in love with the atmosphere of the English pubs. Drived by this magical feeling, he founded the Polo Pub, with the atmosphere he was always in love with. Our aim is to provide wide range of quality and unique beers, combining these with the finest and oldest local recipies and meals. This place will be perfect for you, if you wish to enjoy an Irish style pub, far away from it's origins, but boosted with local specialities.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

overcharged for drinks two different prices on two different nights
service terrible staff not friendly

Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts here. I was sorry to read that you weren’t satisfied with our service! We strive to provide excellence in every way, and this is not the true reflection of the services we are very proud of. We take all your words with the utmost seriousness, and we sincerely hope, that you will give us the chance to better serve you in the future.

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just off the main road, few tables outside for when the weathers fine. Indoors not too big, stools downstairs and seating upstairs. Nice and simple little menu, for the area very reasonable and not too touristy. Five beers on tap when we visited, from Bud to Guiness. Loved the stuffed cabbage leaves and the bar staff were welcoming and helpful. Nice atmosphere and has the feel of a small old mans pub from back home in the UK. Worth a stop for lunch or spending the night and just around the corner from the metro at Battyany Ter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Waeguky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Owner at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

We can't thank you enough for your positive remarks! We are all grateful for you had a great time with us! We are looking forward to the next occasion!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

we were staying in the quiet "Buda" area and whilst out walking we discovered this lovely wee traditional old fashioned pub. We enjoyed a lovely homemade Hungarian dinner, and stayed to listen to the male blues singer. Lovely evening, thanks

Thank PatsyA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORM2014, Online Reputation Manager at Polo Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you for your praising review! Your satisfaction is our greatest reward! We hope to see you again!

With kind regards,
The Polo Pub Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank kasaarpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polo Pub also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Polo Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing