We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find thanks to tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chess Restaurant

Chess Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Italian –French-Hungarian Bistro cuisineTradition & Evolution Our Executive Chef, Levente Kovacs thinks this way about our cuisine:“The youthful and modern bistro cuisine is my world, it can renew day by day, it combines the gastronomic ‘lifestyle’ of different places in the world, even on one plate, in a way that, I don't use hundreds of spices with each other, but I’m trying to create exciting contrasts. I do a kind of kitchen minimal-design because simple can be great also. It causes difficulties sometimes for me to not to put all my ideas into one dish. I’m trying to use the raw materials as they were given to me by nature itself, changing only as much as I need. And then we get to a point, where simple is not so simple anymore. Ease and great tasting harmony in life, in the kitchen and on the plate.Simple is hard. Enjoy!”What else can we say? The Chess Restaurant is an intimate place in black and white, absolutely a place to get together frequently, where You can try new dishes day by day with it’s always renewing kitchen creativity, served simply and clearly.The Chess Restaurant opened, it’s Your move now!
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find thanks to tripadvisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on here.....and what a find! Exceptional food and service. Good portion sizes and very reasonably priced - set in a very pleasant formal dining area. Didn't venture into the courtyard area so unable to comment on that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHOTSOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    192
    76
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food served by helpful friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We walked past this restaurant one night on our way back from a restaurant down the road where we had eaten a pleasant but ordinary meal - and commented on how busy it looked and how good the food looked and smelt from through the window - saying we ought to try it. We actually ate here a couple of days later and had an amazing experience.
The staff were friendly and helpful, offering us complimenary amuse-bouche while assisting us with our selections from the varied menu where everything on it seemed worth trying. We were not disappointed with our choices of starters and main course - and though we usually only have 2 courses and were feeling nicely full - we went for a dessert on the basis that this would be every bit as good as the rest; and it was.
As a final comment - even the music being played was well selected and played at a perfect volume, not too quiet to be heard, not too loud to interupt conversations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I_and_B_Barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai. China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Right price, right food, right people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our first restaurant in Budapest and we loved it so much that we went back for a second night.

The ambiance is homey despite the black and white decor. Seating is comfy and can fit anything from a family gathering to a business dinner.

The food is one thing that blows everyone away- the goulash is well executed, salad refreshingly flavourful, and the main course we had were stunning. The lamb shank is tender and flavourful and the salmon fried in coconut oil sings in your mouth. Not to mention the side dishes that are just right to accentuate the flavours of the protein.

The services is another thing that made us so impressed- the waitor are attentive to the details. But not annoying at all.

This is just a great tull package on hungarian culinary experience that is always welcoming to all.

Helpful?
Thank Joku_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant on Sunday night in Budapest and we end up at Chess: what a great surprise!! The food was absolutely amazing, the perfect combination between Hungarian, Italian and French cuisine! The dishes seemed a piece of art and the prices are very fair. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gmarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An average restaurant with average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Monday night and although there were quite a few people there, they had plenty of staff on. However service was very slow and after we finished our meals they cleared our plates but didn't offer us the dessert menu or the bill. We sat at the table for ages until we finally just got up and asked for the bill ourselves. It was very poor service - yet they charge you a 'service' component on the bill.

The food was nice but average for what it cost. We had the duck and pork with the pork being the clear winner but nothing special. What was good about this restaurant is that they brought out a glass of Champagne and a little entree which we weren't charged for.

I wouldn't recommend going here as there are plenty of other choices which are better value, have better service and much better food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBs_gone_wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chess Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Chess Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing