We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming, friendly and good value”
Review of Zappa Cafe

Zappa Cafe
Ranked #558 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unassuming, friendly and good value”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited Zappa as part of a business trip with some colleagues last week. It was a warm evening so we sat outside. The service was excellent and the waiters very friendly. The food was good, standard authentic Hungarian food and was very tasty. The best part was the low cost which as this restaurant is in a tourist area was a nice surprise.

I'd definitely go back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaryShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good price, nice outdoor area”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped here for a quick lunch before we headed to the aiport. The calzone was not the typical calzone one thinks of, but my hubby liked it. It was cheap and quick with lots of umbrellas to sit under. The lemonade was very refeshing for those who do not drink!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiImMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Affordable / Nice / Terrace”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The meal were good, the terrace was nice...The kitchen closed at 22h30 so we can't order a dessert. The bill was shameless (less than 7000 HUK) for 2 meal and 4 pint

Helpful?
Thank Thierry G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
301 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

They overcooked the honey/garlic shrimp. But on a street as pleasant and interesting as this one, and with such good service, it hardly matters!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a quiet drink”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were staying nearby and spent a few evenings outside with a glass of wine and a beer. We only ate here on one occasion but the food was good, especially the duck with red onion marmalade and salad. Reasonable prices and friendly staff. Would recommend if staying in the area as a nice spot to stop on the way out to dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zappa Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Zappa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing