We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of mprovements”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Hotel
Ranked #245 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Members of the staff were not helpful. I paid before coming but they asked me to pay city tax when I refused they put me in a room on the seventh floor where the window are in the ceiling. The breakfast is very very basic. The place is far from the city center but near the new mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerusalemMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Green Hotel for 4 days during the Grand Prix. The room we were given for the first 2 days was on the 9th floor. It was as hot as hell (no air con in 40 deg heat), very tiny with one of the worse beds I've ever slept in. Never accept a room on the 9th floor, they won't even rate in a 1 star flee pit. After 2 days we couldn't stand one more night but were allocated a much larger room on the 5th floor which had air-con and was the standard of a 2 star.
The hotel really had zero facilities, the breakfast was very basic, as was the bar. The patio overlooks a car park with zero view. The location is ok for the metro but getting back to it after 11pm was problematic as the metro was closed so it was an expensive taxi ride.
Definitely would not recommend although one or two of the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Never accept a room on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice a modern interiror, friendly staff, location is not far from centre about 20min on metro. Metro is about 5 min walk from the hotel.Nice size rooms very spacious.

Breakfast is not very nice, cereal bread and lots of paprika flavoured stuff. Few things did not work in the room i.e light in bathroom (which was reported and not fixed), the safe (but was ok to use one in reception). Was generally clean but dust on the side (they did not clean it everyday more of tidy up.

Not bad for price paid but not the best I have stayed in. Be careful of city tax which works out about 2000 HUF each person.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballerina_Laura_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

No way is this hotel a 4 star hotel. I had high expectation of this hotel, when really it is just like a room in a travel lodge. Probably worse. There is no main area where you can sit and no bar. We there is, but it is only open at dinning times which are limited.
The area round the hotel is very poor and there are homeless people and tramps hanging around. Although it is only 4 tube stops from central Budapest, if you go there during the day time you can't be bothered to go all that way back in the evening.
The hotel is clean, but the cleaners are very nosy and some of the guests are very noisy. Because they are usually only staying there for one night they are not bothered about upsetting anyone.
The receptionist were excellent and helpful.
The breakfast was not worth the money charged.
I would not stay here again. Prefer somewhere nearer to Budapest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elledee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I do not think this is 4* hotel, good 3*. We had higher expactations.

Here is couple facts:

We have visited this hotel with our two children. At the begining they said the hotel is non smoking. Personal, older man, at breakfast buffet smoked just in front of customers! In non smoking hotel. We were upset of personal in restaurant, they were eating in front of customers! Very unproffesional.

On the other way - AC was working, yound dark hair lady at front desk was very helpfull and nice, proffesional. Room was clean, one light in bathroom did not work, refrig. did not work too, rooms are dark, aso bathroom is dark. Old towels but comfortable beds, also for our kids.

Breakfast buffet - not tasty, not good. Have seen better in 3*.

Outside neighbourhood of the hotel is very weird, homeless people etc. I was afraid to walk out by my self.

Close is Cosmo grill - nice china fastfoon, walking 5 minutes, acros street of burger king.

There is underground garage - very dark, and full of rabish, more like bin... scary and with bad smell.

Location - 4 stops by tube, 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel staff are all very friendly even suggested some trips to take which were great value. the hotel is a little out of the city centre . there is however a metro stop near by which takes about 10min to get to city centre costing about 320huf.

The hotel is very clean and new. there are 2 hotel lifts all in marble. the room i stayed in very nice. the room had two single beds. very nice wallpaper design . the room had tv but no coffee making facilities. the celling fan did keep the room cool . but would of thought air conditioning would of made better sense for guest comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davids73186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's a very clean hotel, the suff is friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is rich and varied. The hotel it's not so close by the town center but there is a metro station in nearby.
Our room was situated on the street side so it was a little bit noisy in the morning. You can enjoy the massages services or the fitness room or you take your dinner to the hotel restaurant. Also, the wireless network is working quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_i_v_i_a_0_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Expo Congress Hotel
#99 of 335 in Budapest
568 reviews
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#115 of 335 in Budapest
1,532 reviews
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#153 of 335 in Budapest
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zugló
Hid Hotel
Hid Hotel
#224 of 335 in Budapest
117 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#249 of 335 in Budapest
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Address: Kerepesi ut 34, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Zugló
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $42 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing