We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful towns of the world”
Review of Budapest Essence

Budapest Essence
Ranked #78 of 302 Tours in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The capital city of Hungary is likely to amaze or even dazzle you.Once you have got to know the city you will see that it still is a real traveller's treat and "breath of fresh air" among other European capitals more in demand. A foreign friend of mine can hardly believe how underrated this city still is, so she has become an ardent "advertiser" of the Budapest overseas.As for the personalized walks offered to my visitors;I have opted for organizing highly personalized sightseeing tours. While the routes may also lead to well-known sights or "Unesco World Heritage Sites", they may eventually venture into areas located off-the-beaten path - just to give you a chance to glimpse behind the touristic scene. The walks are thus tailored to your interests and needs which are discussed in detail before your arrival via e-mail. The walks enable you to gain insight into everyday life, the arts, architecture, cuisine and history of Budapest or any aspect of the city you may be interested. You will be able to explore the most authentic aspects of Budapest, as if shown around by a local friend.Besides English, guiding is available in Italian and Spanish.Welcome to Budapest and have an enjoyable stay.
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful towns of the world”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Budapest is a beautiful city in Central Europe with a colourful, long and exciting history, with very high cultural values and excellent location on the banks of the Danube River. This town is offering you fantastic music programmes, museums and galleries, representing both classical and modern art. You find here excellent restaurants and coffeehouses, shopping and excursion possibilities, and you will see fantastic views and silhouettes of the Buda Hills, the Royal Castle, the gothic Matthias Church and Fishermen's Bastion mirroring on the water of the Blue Danube.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ViatorCastellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just so different from what we live”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Being in Hungary you have to understand that it is less than on generation that has been freed from Communism. It still shows in many ways, but the experience of the beautiful city and people and especially the food is soooo well worth it. Have a great time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank R_Ford_949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buda/Pest b-sides”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have experienced with Andrés a wonderful moment on the Buda and Pest b-sides. We have visited the Jewish quarter, the cemetery + "off the beaten" path-walks in the 8th district. Andrés advised us many authentic Turkish baths. We also went to see different "Art Nouveau" buildings. We've been very happy with this more than 3-hour walking tour. We definitely recommend it. Thanks Andrés!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hacene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience with Andras!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family and I were in Budapest for just 2 days and wanted to see the highlights of the city. Andras, our English speaking guide from Budapest sensations took us around the entire city in a day tour. He had everything planned before hand. Andras is really friendly and took a personal interest in making our day so enjoyable and memorable. We had a great time and we can't thank him enough for all the fun we had!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sneha212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Architectural delight!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Getting the most out of local architecture and history is always high priority for me when traveling. So when my friends and I found this unorthodox, informative, yet enjoyable city walk we were pretty excited - and it turned out to be a great choice. We asked the guide to choose the most exciting parts of some of the tours offered and come up with something genuine that suits our interests, which he did. The walk was very flexible, so we could stop at cares and just chill out but we learnt a lot and had a great time with him. It was a real refreshment after some typically touristy sightseeing a we had been before. I can highly recommend Andrew's walks. It's well worth every penny.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budapest Essence also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Budapest Essence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing