We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in a great city!”
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
“Awesome place in a great city!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It's difficult to summarize the experience at Vitae; I'd say it all boils down to an amazing experience because of the great people! I was recently traveling solo across Europe for three months; I had so many great experiences, met so many great people, and Vitae stands out as a place where both happened!

From the moment you walk up to check-in you start having fun and meeting people. I had one of the best "check-in" experiences, getting a thorough run down of places to see, places to eat, things to do, epic suggestions, and help booking everything! The staff is incredibly knowledgable and fun! I met a ton of great people at Vitae, all of which were having as much fun as I was! The atmosphere is fun and very social. There is always something going on that you can join into if you want, and there is no pressure if you don't. There are nightly events; boat parties, bath parties, pub crawls, alcoholympics......this is a "party hostel" and there is plenty of fun to be had, but the accommodations don't suffer for it.

The beds are comfortable, bathrooms and showers are clean, and there are kitchens at your disposal! Perfect for backpackers or budget travelers who want to cook. And if you don't want to cook, the staff makes family dinner everyday and you can sign up to join in for just the cost of ingredients!

Vitae has it all, experience it, it'll be one of your best times in all of Europe! Shout out to Cosmo, super cool cat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    51
    20
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
14
335
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've stayed in hostels all over the world, but Vitae is by far and away the best hostel I've ever been to. Bed's are very comfy, the staff are awesome, loads of sick activities both day and night, cool chill out spaces, and the location is great (no signage because its a listed building but it's the brown door just to the left of Blokk bar).

This place is so awesome. If you're young and looking for a party hostel in budapest (or anywhere for that matter) Vitae is next level.

A quick word on the negative reviews left here. I found the staff to be not only really friendly and accommodating, but well organised and flexible too.

To sum up, this is the only hostel I have ever said "I have to come back here" whilst I was checking out. STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElliotHampsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at Carpe Noctem Vitae with a few other friends in May and it was so much fun! Tours/Activities were planned for every day which anyone could take part in! Staff were absolutely amazing! Nothing was too much trouble for them. Atmosphere was great, definitely visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stay here! Vitae is literally the best place ever. I promise you, you won't ever want to leave. It's like living in a frat house, everyone is really fun & friendly (if a little crazy and inebriated most of the time :P ) the atmosphere is just amazing. There's a 'family' dinner each night (super cheap and really tasty, great for saving your huff for that night's drinks!) before a killer night out each day of the week (each one a different theme). From boat parties to jaeger trains it's all cheap drinks and great nights my advice is to buy tickets to everything and get involved with it all, you won't regret it! The hostel staff are amazing- whatever you need, whether it's directions or day trip plans or someone to play beer-pong with they're always around to help & tell you some crazy stories. Great location too only a 5min walk from the Octagon. All in all it was an incredible week, & I'm already planning my next trip. VITAE TILL I DIE.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jevanyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Have stayed at vitae twice now and I love it even more. The vibe is so awesome, the staff are even more amazing and the hostel is super great with its location, events and facilities. Prepare to have the best party bender of your life as well as see this incredible city at the same time. Love you guys.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracekearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZEEEEE!!! Literally had the best time ever here, everyone was so friendly & helpful. IT WAS SOOOOO FUN!!
Highly recommend. If you're clueless, you basically get told all the best things to do and you can buy all your tickets and passes at the hostel. Such good value as well!
Definitely stay here if you go to Budapest!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is definitely not a place for a family with small children but if you're a student or in your 20s and you want a brilliant week then its the place to go.
The staff are just brilliant! I got along well with everyone, they do their jobs really well. Every night they plan events that you can join with including a boat party or just a bar crawl. They are strict on noise in the building because they are in a residential area but thats great if you want to stay in for the night and get some sleep.
Location is great, you have trains/buses/rails right outside but there is also a lot in walking distance.
You can have cheap but lovely dinners with them every night and they help you to plan days out (like tours or the zoo or water parks etc). The place was really clean, bins emptied regularly etc good smell, they offered us towels but you need your own toiletries.
My one down side was that more than once the hot water ran out. We were a large group anyway but it seemed that there isn't enough hot water for the amount of people given the same showers to use. Other than that its a really great week, in fact I am already planning to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,698 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,030 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Property: Carpe Noctem Vitae
Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing