We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the PERFECT hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the PERFECT hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Carpe Noctum Vitae goes beyond ticking the boxes. Sure, the beds are comfy, the showers spacious, the location perfect, the wifi top notch, and the security great. But you won't really understand why its so amazing until you go. (Good luck not extending your stay once you're there).

The staff are truly incredible - they become like family after a few days. Upon arrival you will receive the most in depth map reading of Budapest you could ask for. Then they will tell you about the amazing pub crawl, river cruise, and karaoke nights they offer (All of which I highly recommend). It really is the perfect hostel to meet new people, party hard with them, and then stumble out of bed to see the beautiful city of Budapest with them. I can't recommend Carpe Noctem Vitae highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    50
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
1
12
307
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! What a great way to end my 5 month trip by staying with a bunch of legends! The hostel is clean, the parties are great and the people, especially the STAFF ARE THE BESTt!! Cosmo has the best beard which really gives a truly cultural Hungarian experience. All the staff are legends and Aussie Dave is always up for some late night football banter. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooch94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

First of all, Carpe Noctem Vitae really made our life really easy in a bunch of aspects. The place is really clean, comfortable, with a great localization and a amazing staff.
They provide everything we needed, party, games, fun times, rest and all! I felt really at home, and sometimes I just wanted to stay thereat the couch talking with thouse good people! Top notch!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Felipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nothing bad ever to say about Vitae!!! It is travelers heaven in every sense of the word. Its a penthouse filled with 50 of your new best friends where you get to hang out and party all day before going out for the most epic nights of your life. It is not a hostel, it is a family that takes care of your and welcomes you in. I have stayed at upwards of 30 hostels and have never found a better place!! Be ready to be welcomed home by guests and staff alike. BIG SHOUT OUT to the ah-mazing staff (scrumpy, aussie dave, cosmo, leah, kdoll, rosie, etc)! They will take care of you like no one else on earth and would do anything for their guests. If you want to stay at the greatest hostel in Europe and meet some of the most incredible travelers you can find- STAY HERE!!!! But be warned that you will never want to leave. There is a reason that everyone extends. Enjoy this wonderful black hole of heaven. Miss my vitae family!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hostel is the best one I have ever stayed in. Like most people there, I booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying for over a month.. And that was just my first visit! All the staff are amazing and make you feel at home with family dinners every night ranging from cosmo's awesome pizza night to Leah's amazing vegetarian meals! The parties are incredible and the pre drinking games at the hostel get the night off to a great start! I recommend this place to everyone and anyone who wants a great time with a family feel! It's never land and its amazing! LOVE EVERYONE THERE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This the the best hostel I stayed at during my 3 months in Europe. the staff are amazing, you will make friends for life. It's an awesome place to meet people, the vibe is just increbile and no other hostel quite met the same levels. It made budapest my favourite city. If you don't stay at Viate I feel sorry for, so many spectacular (hazy) memories! I stayed for three extra nights then came back a month later and stayed another 4.

Room Tip: they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Positives - YES, IN A BIG WAY.
Negatives - you have to leave. Vitae will send you waxing lyrical over how much you love everyone in a sickeningly-saccharine way.

Having been interrailing and sampled some amazing (and some utterly dire) hostels I had always been led to believe that when visiting a city you could have either a clean bed and a decent sleep at the cost of good atmosphere or amazing days/nights out but with no sleep and a bed shared with various unwelcome creatures (human and otherwise).
Until. . . we stumbled on the holy grail of hostels - a place with friendly people, clean beds and bathrooms and the best time of your life (start up the dirty dancing soundtrack).

We stayed at Vitae for an oh-so-short 3 nights (I think our biggest regret!). As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a flurry of staff, semi-staff (these long-term guests are difficult to distinguish) and guests alike. It is like a cosy, incestuous family which you feel a part of from opening the door to long after leave (sob sob).

The nights out were amazing, but there was never the ‘forced fun’ element you get at some party hostels, these guys are all just genuinely friendly, party-hearty people. They are also really knowledgeable about the area, suggesting lots of places to visit, eat at etc and even taking us to some themselves. There is a fairly early noise curfew meaning if you do go out you have the whole night to sample budapest’s amazing bars but if you stay in the hostel will be pretty quiet so you can sleep off the jet-lag/hangover/bangover.

The set up of the hostel is great, with an open plan kitchen, lounge area and reception. This means that there are always people around to watch a film, eat or play drinking games with.

The staff -
THE BEST hostel staff I have ever met. They are the smiliest, most welcoming, most fun, fastest drinking, highest stakes s**theading bunch I have ever met. They also work super hard cleaning the hostel, organising nights out and on babysitting duty (looking after the hostel while everyone is out), and that they do all this on a cumulative months long hangover is even more impressive.

I know I’ve forgotten names (I think I forgot my own after some of the beer-fuelled evenings) so forgive me for anyone I’ve missed -
Kendoll, Rosiewiththeeyes, Anna, Leah, Aussie Dave (give the guy a big hug from me), Cosmo, Wedge, Meddler, Mitch, Seth, Cyclops (founder of Meow Mondays) - you are all INCREDIBLE. And I miss you with all the beating of my heart and the burning of my loins.

When I graduate if you need an in-hostel doctor (I think you do!) I’d be thrilled to apply for the position.

SNOGS
Rosie-with-some-eyes-but-not-THE-eyes
xxx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Property: Carpe Noctem Vitae
Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing