We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too fun, I had to book to go back!!”
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was the first hostel I ever stayed in. I went with 5 of my friends. Although the staff are all party animals and laid back people, they still do a professional job of maintaining the hostel and leading bar crawls. I loved all of them! Everything was very clean and there are cool places to hang out in the hostel, a games room, a nice lounge room and a little deck. The location was great and every night there was some kind of party organised by the hostel, they would take us to bars, the magic bath raves and clubs. I met heaps of people and we all had an awesome time, so I'm going back :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 970 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

this place is the real experience. It is a great opportunity to not only experience the city of Budapest, but also meet awesome locals that are so down to have a good time with you. They treat you like family, I immediately felt 100% at home when I arrived. The guys take you to different popular and cool places each night and it's a blast. They often include different themes on the nights out - its so much fun to just be crazy with them and have an unabashed good time! I am already looking into visiting there again - it was by far the best place i've visited all thanks to the wondrous Carpe Noctem Vitae crew!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I once went to Budapest and stayed at Tiger Tim's Hostel at recommendation of a family member. It sucked! I had to give Budapest another try. I wanted a party but not a zoo. This place had both family and fiesta. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkalinej97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you travel it is fairly easy to make friends but rarely can you find a family. Vitae's location, ample common space and planned activities allow for you to see the city both by day and night. You may find on other reviews that this hostel is only about partying, which is a factor, but its not the whole factor. Its about the people. Every person staying at the hostel was interested in sharing their life, experiences, food, drinks, etc.

The staff's love for travellers is hard to put in to words. They genuinely care about your experience and want you to question if leaving Budapest is a good choice...you'll see, a lot of people stay. If you want to get away from the larger , impersonal, hostels out there, chose Vitae. They people you meet will make all the difference.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjmcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had such a good time here with friends last week! Ran by attractive 20-somethings, Vitae has a great social atmosphere and because things are planned with other hostels, you get to meet loads of people. I was really surprised by how clean it was here too, especially cause we arrived with a group of around 50.

The location is super central, perfect for stumbling home after one of the activities organised by the staff (boat party…!) + close to most tourist sites. Vitae definitely wins the title of ‘staff i’d most like to sleep with’, so thank you for showing us the best time, already planning my trip back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claiemoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hostel took on a group of over 50 of us last week. It was a warm, comfortable place which was perfect for winter with all the space for hanging out. The budapest party hostel lifestyle was epic, but the hostel was still nice and quiet when we got home late. Highlights were the boat party, the home cooked meals in the evening and the open mic night! Staff were great, the place was spotless and someone was always cleaning away. Overall people can't stop talking about the trip, so we're giving 100% recommendation for vitae. See you next time!
Europa society.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Buts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

AMAZING!! had the best time! and the staff is super friendly!they help you with everything (finding your way to the hostel, telling you what to see in Budapest and the best places to eat)! the staff goes out with you and brings you to the coolest bars/clubs in budapest. The 4 sister hostels organise great nights out such as pub crawls, boat partys with chapagne, karaoke nights...the hostel is close to everything (walking distance to the town centre and other means of public transport)!! Its the best hostel ive been too and i travelled througout europe! i definatly want to come back again as soon as possible!! THANKS FOR everything!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 528Bor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,201 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
756 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 672 in Budapest
280 reviews
District V / Inner City
Katona Apartments
Katona Apartments
#5 of 672 in Budapest
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing