We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now THAT is a Hostel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Now THAT is a Hostel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I can't put into words how much I enjoyed the 5 short days that I stayed at Carpe Noctem Vitae (The BEST of the 4 party hostels in Budapest), but I'll try!
The way I would describe the unique atmosphere at Carpe Notcem Vitae, is a massive share house, where the staff are super relaxed, and way crazier than the guests!
Every night, some kind of outing is organised, including bar crawls, all you can drink, strawpeedo boat races, open mike night, river boat cruise and lots and lots of Karaoke.
And what kind of Hostel, when you leave, do all the staff come and hug you goodbye? A freaking Awesome one!!
Can't wait to come back, and am already thinking about booking flights back during summer!
Best hostel experience in the whole 2 months I was in Europe for!
If you're into for an amazing time, this is where it's at!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    50
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
1
12
309
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently I stayed here for Christmas and Cinetrip 2012, I planned my entire European Vacation around being at Vitae for these events and it didn't disappoint.
If you want a fun hostel for having an awesome time in Budapest this is your venue. There are events organised every night if you want to party and then during the day the staff are always full of great ideas of things to do, whether it be places to eat, see or explore. The staff are amazing and will look after you, from the moment you walk in the door they make you feel welcome and will make every effort to ensure you enjoy your time in Budapest.
I have recommended Vitae to all my friends that have traveled to Budapest since my first stay in 2011 and they have all thanked me for it. So stop looking at other hostels and book yourself in to Vitae, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely absolutely wonderful. Welcoming comfortable and sick sick fun. All the staff are just great, with a note to keys. Get him to show you the map. Every night is the best night. I loved my time there and didn't want to leave

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2822cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend recommended this hostel to me so I had high expectations but was a little disappointed. The staff make an effort to arrange something and take you out each night but are not overly social with guests during the day. Additionally the rooms are pretty lack lustre. The walls are dirty with marks along with some of the mattresses. I stayed in two of the dorm rooms as the staff asked me to swap half way through my stay. The first was quite spacious but the second very crowded. On the morning I needed to change rooms I walked into my first dorm to find that all of my clothes and possessions had been tossed off my bed and onto a pile on the floor by the staff. I found this very rude and was quite pissed off. The bathrooms are also pretty average and one's outline can be seen through the shower doors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel with friends in December. The vibe of the hostel is good, especially if your looking to party. We stayed in private rooms which were spacious and clean.
The location was pretty good, we walked most places but you could easily catch public transport also.
If I went back to Budapest with friends I would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ive been in really good hostels all over europe, and Ive never write a comment in this page. But this crazy Hostel really deserves it!! Was the best time ever!!All the staff its amazing, like an other guy said: Best mix of comfort and party, and the best place to have a hangover =D
And Key man, your awesome! Keep being so cool, hope to come back one day!!

Saludos de Chile!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This 100% excellent review is all because of Keys. He was the best host ever: helpful, friendly, nice, cheerful, and the most lovely person. The hostel is clean, comfy, and feels like a home. Lots of love!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandarosaliefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,822 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Property: Carpe Noctem Vitae
Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing