We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, great location”
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value, great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel with friends in December. The vibe of the hostel is good, especially if your looking to party. We stayed in private rooms which were spacious and clean.
The location was pretty good, we walked most places but you could easily catch public transport also.
If I went back to Budapest with friends I would stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    51
    20
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
14
330
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ive been in really good hostels all over europe, and Ive never write a comment in this page. But this crazy Hostel really deserves it!! Was the best time ever!!All the staff its amazing, like an other guy said: Best mix of comfort and party, and the best place to have a hangover =D
And Key man, your awesome! Keep being so cool, hope to come back one day!!

Saludos de Chile!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This 100% excellent review is all because of Keys. He was the best host ever: helpful, friendly, nice, cheerful, and the most lovely person. The hostel is clean, comfy, and feels like a home. Lots of love!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandarosaliefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Carpe Noctem Vitae isn't just a hostel. No. It's more like a 60 person share-house with all
your best friends where the fun never stops and the alcohol is continuously flowing.
I booked for 4 nights, and stayed, collectively, for 6 weeks over my whole time in europe.
The staff are amazing and I made a gazillion life long friends. So, if you enjoy ciders in the morning, exploring beautiful budapest during the day and having a cheeky couple of shots by night, head straight here.

Room Tip: Choose Narancj, the biggest room - 14 beds - more friends, more fun. Like a huuuuuge sleepover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at vitae for 10 days and I can without doubt tell you that it was the best and most memorable days we've both ever expierienced.
Every staff member has their own style and amazing personality and they'll make sure you'll have the best time of your life, every single night. If you're more interested in sightseeing than partying this is still a great hostel to stay at 'cause of it's location and it's helpful staff members who'll recommend you the best restaurants, tours, activities and attractions.
There are different activities every night such as karaoke, pub crawl, boat trips, costume parties etc.This makes every day/night exciting and special in it's own way.
The hostel is very clean and comfortable and is equipped with everything you'll possibly need.
Both staff and guests are extremely friendly and outgoing and you'll quickly feel at home and like a part of the family.
This is only a great thing though depending on how well you handle goodbyes, because once you've stayed here you will never want to leave.
My parting was forced because of school, but as soon as I graduate I'll buy a one-way ticket to Budapest and (fingers crossed) never have to leave again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinaAndSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the private room. The staff was very helpful, they know all about the city and will lead you to the best tours, restaurants, and activities around the city. There are organized outings every night, and the people that stay there are extremely fun and friendly. I had one of the best weekends of my life here, I'm definitely coming back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzakinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Can't find a hostel with a nicer staff or better atmosphere. If you're looking to have fun, this is the place to stay. I was supposed to only stay 3 nights, but was having such a great time I extended my stay to two weeks. I'm not exaggerating when I say this hostel literally changed my life. I did so many things for the first time I never would have tried if I stayed somewhere else. You will not regret staying here if you're looking for a good time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeysimpson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#9 of 333 in Budapest
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Property: Carpe Noctem Vitae
Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing