We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carpe Noctem Vitae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Noctem Vitae
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane City, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“BEST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN. I've stayed in over 50 hostel all across the world and this hands down beats them all. No check-in or check-out times, family dinners ever night. The hostel staff takes you out everynight on the town. Great quality wifi, heaps comfortable places to chill during the day excellent kitchen. But I think what really makes this place is the staff they really make you feel at home. This hostel is great if your in a group and really good if your alone it's so friendly and social I garanty you will enjoy it. Everybody who stays here extends there stay!!!!

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forrest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    50
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
1
12
309
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the most unorganised, uncomfortable hostel I have stayed in. You would wake up the next morning and people would just be passed out all over the place- very annoying if you wanted to use any of the facilities in the morning without waking people up. The hostel is very much 100% party vibe. If you don't want to party for just one night, you wont be able to get to sleep until everyone leaves for the night. People were incredibly disrespectful in rooms, drinking in there until the wee hours. Also, the showers are terrible, don't expect a good clean while you stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I first went to Carpe Vitae as I'd never been to a hostel before, but i can safely say it was truly amazing! The location was excellent and very centralised in main Budapest. The people were great and friendly and its a fantastic opportunity to meet people from around the world. The whole place is very clean and all the amenities you would find in a Hotel and more.. Really enjoyed my time there and cannot wait to go back.. Viva Carpe Noctem Vitae!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karansawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've spent moonlit nights diving off of junk boats into the emerald waters in Vietnam, motorcycled around islands in Thailand, gone tubing in Laos, lived with villagers in Fiji, trekked the Himalayas and the Andes, reveled in the pubs and clubs of capitals and beach towns across Europe, smoked hash with rebels in Libya, hiked up a mountain through the pre-dawn darkness in Zimbabwe, partied until dawn in Beirut. So, uh, yeah… I like to travel. But by far the most fun adventures of my life have all taken place in Carpe Noctum Vitae. They know cool-- the people who work there are cool, the music they play is cool, every night is an artistically inspired and perfected exercise in coolness. It is not just a hostel (or ho-stile" if you're an Aussie). It is a way of life. It is Shangri-La and Pleasure Island rolled into one.
This summer, I went twice. After the first visit, I went to Romania and found myself chatting with some other guy who had stayed there. We talked about it for hours. This is not an uncommon occurrence. I missed it so much I decided to change my itinerary and go back the next weekend.
When I went, I found a girl I'd met there the year before. I had missed something like three flights before I could finally peel myself away from the hostel's unparalleled charms. She missed a train. A year later, she still hadn't left. This place is cool in the way Vegas wants to be cool–by providing you whatever you want at a moment's notice. But unlike Vegas, it is not for D-bags. This place is cheap, friendly, and warmhearted. You don't have to be a diehard partyboy to enjoy it–and it's cooler if you aren't. From the beer machine in the foyer to the uninterrupted playlist of unarguably cool music, from the series of awesome themed nights that melt into days that turn back into night's and then days that seem to pass like frames in a fashion photographer's film roll to the late afternoon breakfast reminiscing about last night on the balcony, this place knows what you want before you do. It is a life force. It reads your algorithms. The people who work there do it for free because they like it–like hedonistic monks. It is not a hostel, it is a way of life. It is a source–it'll change your life man.
Stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetPitted949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Awesome hostel....clean friendly and wicked location. Parties every night...or you can stay and chill at the hostel if you decide. Staff are friendly and really helpful. It instantly feels like your second home and you wont want to leave. Really good atmosphere to meet people as well if you are travelling by yourself. The only danger is you will not want to leave i will definately be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMac789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

40 words, or less is not enough to describe the time that was had with this hostel. Clean, comfortable, and friendly are words for light readers. Some other words: 2 planes missed on purpose, boat cruise debauchery, bodacious bath rave, re-visits, re-encounters, robots, confused Hungarians, and extra baggage. Carpe Noctem Vitae is my Buda bootie. I love you and not just because you have air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yahjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

CN Vitae is one of the best hostels I ever stayed at! Great staff, awesome atmosphere and location...the place to be if you are a solo traveller and want meet new people. Plenty of action in the common areas (huge for the size of the hostel!) and activities every night, including a party boat cruise on the Danube! Plus, when you get back smashed at night and you want to crash in bed, it is unsuspectably quiet! If back in Budapest, definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erpumadepozzallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,822 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Noctem Vitae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Noctem Vitae

Property: Carpe Noctem Vitae
Address: Erzsebet korut 50, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are just looking for a bed and nothing else...easy, there are thousands elsewhere in the city.If you want something more from a hostel, from the people who work and live there, if you want a community, an experience, and an atmosphere bursting with creativity, excitement and fun... welcome to Vitae, welcome to real hostel life.At the bottom of this page you can get a taste of some upcoming events in the city. We deal in all realms of nightlife here in Budapest so get ready to get involved because there's always a lot happening.As part of the Budapest Party Hostels Brand we are the least wild of the three, we still go out every night drinking, but also offer you a range of different options, and have a great environment with chill areas if you want to stay in too. We offer clean,. bright spacious rooms, with hard to beat security and the real difference, attentive and caring staff who actually take an interest in all parts of your stay in Budapest.60% of our total floor space is sociable space so that there is a ton of room for you to chill, or play games, meet people or watch dvds. We have a large modern kitchen, for you to cook for yourself or for us to cook for you, as we have in house cook-ups almost every night for just the cost of the ingredients.We know that Budapest is not just about tours, castles and churches which is why we organise something every night with a group program, but we also can suggest other cultural or party ideas for you as we like to keep ourselves with the finger on the pulse of what is going on in the city. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing