We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The term "party hostel" taken to a whole new meaning.”
Review of Retox Party Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Retox Party Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The term "party hostel" taken to a whole new meaning.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place is really something unique. Don't expect to sleep, don't expect to relax, you will party your face off with an amazing group of open minded and fun people. The staff could not have been more helpful. Anything I needed whether it be food, touristic things, or nightlife recommendations they were always willing to lend a helping hand! When you look at the place and see the atmosphere you wouldn't think much of your comfort or of the cleanliness there, but in reality they had some of the cleanest bathrooms i'd been in and I slept well every night (although this might have been because of something else). Overall I had an amazing stay and would recommend this place to anyone looking to have a wild time in Budapest.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    48
    14
    11
    15
See reviews for
2
7
162
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castellammare Di Stabia, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Classic party hostel. But great party hostel at that! You have the crazed Austrailians, Canadians, the Kiwi (c'est moi!) and token French/German groups. Classic there is a bar beneath you, classic tyou can't get pissed off if on you're toke night-in you get woken up when every one heads home at four. They organize things for you to do every night and even during the days. The only things actually worth doing is the SPARTY on Saturdays and caving was definitely a unique experience. It's clean! The staff can be a bit obsessed with themselves but at the end of the day they're just tourists like us who got caught up in bar crawl of Europe - and thought they were peaking in Budapest and stayed. It's located in the most chamring area of Budapest - make sure to spend lots of time at "Instant" the club at the end of the street- it has cheap cocktails, three varied dance floors and all these bizarre little rooms- you never know who you'll meet! As great as Retox is, a lot of people fall into that *classic* party hostel/resort trap of letting the accommodation be their experience of the city rather than Retox being a small part of your Budapest experience. Get up in the morning! Go to different bars, walk the streets! It's an amazing, cheap, quirky city- go find it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie-marika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I'm really not sure I can do this place justice with my review but I guess I'll try.
Retox is hands down the best party hostel I've stayed in... the atmosphere is incredible from the second you arrive and there's always some crazy drunken night waiting for you and tonnes of like-minded people to share them with!
But the thing that makes this place the best is the incredible staff- they go out of their way to make sure you have the most amazing stay in Budapest- showing you great places to go to fully see the city, booking you tickets for activities, calling you cabs and more importantly giving everyone the wildest, fun nights out imaginable. By the end of my stay I felt as though these guys were more like friends than staff!!

So if you're looking for an awesome place to stay in an beautiful city then I would 100% recommend staying at Retox, where the only disappointing time you'll have is the moment you have to leave. It took me a couple of missed flights before I actually managed to get away from this crazy place and now I have all I can think about is when I can be back to party again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Better come to one of the best partys of your life. Get wasted with the awesome crew at awesome locations! But be prepared to get not enough sleep, but at least not alone. Its really near to a lot of cool Bars and the Stuff there will let you know everything you need

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkbudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

no words can explain....
What an insane past week. Intially was booked for 2 nights...ended up staying 6. Staff and other guests were so friendly and helpfull- it really gave the hostel a great family atmosphere! Will definitley be back -counting down the days till summer.
RETOX YOU OUTDID YOURSELF
Love from Anna, Steph and Chelsea

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

the staff were all really helpful and were all always up for some fun, the rooms were sweet and safe, the whole abstract art work and graffiti was top notch I'm defiantly going back there just for the people who work there cheers guys for a amazing time see you soon.

Room Tip: go to retox
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

stayed here for a few days with some pals had a sick time the staff are awesome and easy to get along with they love a party just as much as us and when my friend lost his i phone they were really helpful and managed to find it once we had left, they are now mailing it to him which says a lot!!! highly recommended if you like to party, if not stay in one of their sister hostels which are a bit more chiillled but you'll have a great time at either.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,645 reviews
Terézváros
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retox Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retox Party Hostel

Property: Retox Party Hostel
Address: O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 641 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People who travel to Budapest don’t come for the clean streets, the peaceful nights, the immaculate and modern buildings...they go to Vienna for that. People who want to experience the grit, the underground, the alternative, the unseen, undiscovered, the hidden, they come to Budapest and somewhere behind an abandoned building with graffiti on the doors…… you’ll find Retox guests and staff. If you can’t work the name out - you probably shouldn’t come. If you can’t stand a morning view of a concrete jungle, stay at Grandio where there is a leafy jungle. If you want clinical clean-cut and pristine, this is not the place for you. But if you want to be part of a ‘new’ hostel scene where you walk into an overwhelming sense that stories from here are going to be passed onto your grand kids, (if you make it that long)… then join us at Retox. The name says it all, we like life, we don’t think too much about the future, but we live for the moment. We hit it hard and fast at night, and we wait a moment or two before considering the day. We do make it out sightseeing, but not to take photos and send postcards, but to admire views. We go to museums not to please our parents, but to be absorbed in culture. We party hard, not because it’s new and exciting, but because having fun is a much a better idea than not. We meet people not so we are not alone, but so that we are part of a community we never want to leave. Also, it’s an awesome place with heart stopping artwork, in the heart of the bar district (with three bars on our street alone) and a few minutes walk from some of the major sights and with public transport everywhere we look!). Please Note: Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. Carpe Noctem Vitae is a calmer hostel. We also cannot accept booking from people over 40, but groups are welcomed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Retox Party Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing