We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant. party galore...”
Review of Retox Party Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Retox Party Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

amazing location, loads of amenities and outings organised by staff. hostel atmosphere is fantastic. rooms are just add you woukd expect, no hassle in terms of things been stolen or broken. fantastic experience with grwat location. would recommend the beer bike, booze cruis and hungarian baths. the staff make this hostel so good

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 664 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is for one thing and one thing only, P-A-R-T-Y! There are other hostels in the city that are cheaper and more well equipped but did not offer the fun factor this place does. Location is great and the rooms are clean and the shower hot, what else do you need! I've been to Budapest a few times and this was by far the most fun place. If your in town to drink and meet cool people check this place out, if you want something more relaxed I'd advise you look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My friend and I went to Budapest for the weekend and it was unreal. All the staff were super friendly and organized amazing nights out. Each night out is different and everyone had a great time. Everyone that worked at the hostel were super helpful and gave you good insight on what to do/see in Buda. We were supposed to leave on Sunday... but decided to miss our flight and go home Monday. Unreal trip, was so sad to leave but would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We got a private room and it was by far the best decision I've made. You have your privacy when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Amazing party hostel. I booked for 2 days and ended up staying for 12. The staff are amazing, always getting the party started and getting all the guests involved. The staff are always around to help and point you in the right direction for anything you wish to do around Budapest. Every night there is a different event, from the unbelievable jäger train to the crazy all you can drink night. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Everything about this hostel is rad as fukk. The staff are all really chill and extremely helpful and the rooms were always kept clean. Great party environment with events every night of the week not to mention all the other day events like cave exploring offered. I met some of the coolest people staying in this hostel. I Highly recommend Retox if you want to make the most out of your trip and would for sure stay here again. Definitely stands out as one of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pstew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A must for any young person staying in Budapest. Couldn't have asked for more. The hostel and the staff were unbelievable.The events organised by the hostel staff were a big help and I would definitely recommend staying here. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit to Budapest!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Nay_Nay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went here on a class trip for 6 days and right from day 1 the hostel staff were there to help us get the most out of our stay. They brought us on nights out, organised pub crawls and even put on special events for us! When the staff weren't working doing an outstanding job running the hostel they were out partying with us. If you want to have a good time and have fun with other travellers this is really the only place you should look at!

Room Tip: If you're looking for somewhere to collapse after a night out, look no further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crafter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,549 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#6 of 677 in Budapest
989 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#5 of 677 in Budapest
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 677 in Budapest
287 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#28 of 677 in Budapest
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retox Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retox Party Hostel

Address: O Utca 41, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 677 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $14 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People who travel to Budapest don’t come for the clean streets, the peaceful nights, the immaculate and modern buildings...they go to Vienna for that. People who want to experience the grit, the underground, the alternative, the unseen, undiscovered, the hidden, they come to Budapest and somewhere behind an abandoned building with graffiti on the doors…… you’ll find Retox guests and staff. If you can’t work the name out - you probably shouldn’t come. If you can’t stand a morning view of a concrete jungle, stay at Grandio where there is a leafy jungle. If you want clinical clean-cut and pristine, this is not the place for you. But if you want to be part of a ‘new’ hostel scene where you walk into an overwhelming sense that stories from here are going to be passed onto your grand kids, (if you make it that long)… then join us at Retox. The name says it all, we like life, we don’t think too much about the future, but we live for the moment. We hit it hard and fast at night, and we wait a moment or two before considering the day. We do make it out sightseeing, but not to take photos and send postcards, but to admire views. We go to museums not to please our parents, but to be absorbed in culture. We party hard, not because it’s new and exciting, but because having fun is a much a better idea than not. We meet people not so we are not alone, but so that we are part of a community we never want to leave. Also, it’s an awesome place with heart stopping artwork, in the heart of the bar district (with three bars on our street alone) and a few minutes walk from some of the major sights and with public transport everywhere we look!). Please Note: Retox is a party hostel so there may be loud and drunk people as residents. If this is not ok, please contact us and we will find more suitable accommodation. Carpe Noctem Vitae is a calmer hostel. We also cannot accept booking from people over 40, but groups are welcomed! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing