We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. [--]. Place. In. The. World.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandio Party Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at Grandio with a friend for 7 days in the 16 bed dorm room. We're from Belgium and had been travelling through eastern Europe and everywhere (Prague, Zagreb, Krakau) all the funloving outgoing people were saying Grandio is the place to go to. You have to understand... I had been looking forward to that week for a long time and our expectations were high to say the least.
Got there, got drunk, passed out, woke up on a boat with a bottle of champagne in my hand and that's what I remember from day 1. Before you even realize it, you feel like you're part of the crazy, drunk, epic Grandio family. Loved the food, LOVED the staff, LOOOOVED the days and nights out with the staff and the other guests. Don't usually like big rooms cause they tend to be too noisy, but in Grandio, I wish there was a 100 bed dorm room cause the vibe is just so great.

Cannot understand why people would rate down this place. The staff is chill, but if you ask them for anything, you get what you need immediatly. They give you some fun recommendations for what you can do in and around Budapest and they even join you doing them. Loved those guys. Will go back. Soon. Very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siemen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 539 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, rooms suck, stayed in a 4 bedroom with private bathroom - the bathroom didn't even lock, it's okay if you are occupying the room with all your friends but if not it's terrible - anyone of your random roomates could be walking in on you. Room was disgusting, I had more than 20 hairs on my bed sheet, SERIOUSLY- how is this possible - my brave travel buddy cleaned them off (not even kidding) anyway i had to sleep on top of my duvet. Dusty, smelly, grimey rooms with spiders in bathroom. The organised events seem fun from what i hear but seem way too overpriced- £35 for the bath party, friends staying at another hostel paid £10 less.

However, the staff are v friendly, helpful, fun, so relaxed (there is no check-out time- gotta love that). Something was happening all the time! Met loadsa fun travellers here, cheap drinks prices at bar for guests staying here, a great location.

Although i enjoyed my stay i would prob stay elsewhere if i returned- somewhere cleaner- as outsiders can still visit the bar anyway and join in on the evening activities so why would you want to sleep in this grimefest?? Budapest is so fun and you can easily go out to a bar and meet random crazy people or stay at a cleaner hostel and do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varsha101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Filthy and f@&ed up - but pretty damn good. The rooms are disgusting, the bathrooms are horrible and the staff is drunk! Bur for me, this was what I personally expected from this place. They arrange awesome parties of different kinds every night, and id you are young and want to get drunk this is a place for you! If not: look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had heard great things about Grandio, but left disappointed. Rooms and showers are extremely grubby, atmosphere doesn't live up to the name and the staff couldn't be bothered organising drinking games or interacting with their guests.

Bar was cheap and one staff member (Jackie?) did sort out a great night at the baths and was helpful.

Budapest is great, but I'd recommend looking elsewhere, especially given Grandio isn't cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went with 2 friends and we thought it would be a good laugh but the staff were just irritatingly vacant and used the relaxed atmosphere of the place to be lazy and do nothing. They act as if it is a brilliant place to party but take you on the most predictable bar crawls. Was quite funny to watch these gap year cliches doss about and act like it was one of the craziest places in Europe but it's only crazy in a sort of drinking-in-the-park-when-you're-15 kind of way. Absolute embarrassments. The rooms were grubby and we didn't get lockers. Also, the 'rave cave' is a cave with semen-stained furniture and nothing was ever going on in there. Budapest is amazing though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I were really excited to stay here because we heard so many awesome things about it. I'm not sure if we ended up here on a bad weekend or something, but our expectations were not met what so ever. The staff seemed really tired and didn't organize any drinking games or try to start a social scene. Everyone was huddled in their own group and it wasn't craziness like expected. One of the staff members at first seemed really welcoming but then acted like you didn't exist after that. The place was filled with very young people (high school) and it just wasn't the party like we heard. Pretty sure it was just a bad weekend, but really disappointed we didn't get to experience the "real" Grandio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Grandio is positioned in a great place, not too far out of the city (between the train station and river Danube). They gave me warnings when I arrived about people being loud in the rooms, the 'rave cave' etc etc. Ignore that. If you go to a party hostel and go out drinking you will sleep through anything! The bar opened late morning and some groups were drinking at that time. I witnessed a guy nearly fall off the balcony because he was drunk and it was only lunchtime! The food is great there and the drinks are very cheap. They run bar crawls and other events almost every night so if you're a solo traveller it's easy to meet new people there. If you're staying in Budapest and want to have a good time and experience the night-life of the city make sure you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Henchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
942 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#30 of 672 in Budapest
233 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#9 of 672 in Budapest
278 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#32 of 672 in Budapest
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandio Party Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandio Party Hostel

Address: Nagy Diofa Utca 8, Budapest, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $15 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can sleep when you're dead so DON'T expect to get any here. Grandio, one of the only true party places on this earth that welcomes alcoholics, lost souls and arty people with talent but no direction and audiences, the living breathing creature that is constantly evolving, the place with a crazy cult following. On site bar, or beer sold by our staff, or the beer vending machine, or strawpedoes for breakfast.....these are all ways in which we fuel our thirsty and party hard guests (and staff). When the bar is shut, we move to the late room, the den of noise and naughtiness, with a sex bed and hammock depending on how adventurous you are. Every night our staff take you out on different activities in the city. These range from Backpackers fancy dress parties, to pub crawls, to live music nights, to karaoke nights, which take you to our personal favourite (plus some of the cheapest) bars in the city. If you feel like doing something a little different, never fear, as our staff have their finger on the pulse of the city's nightlife and are able to recommend differently nightly activities depending on your tastes. We have a live music venue in the basement, which has different acts on every night providing for all different tastes in music. Every Sunday they let us use it to showcase the talent we play host to with our own open-mic night in which we use our own instruments which include a plethora of guitars, drum kit, piano, violin, piano accordions, plus more as well as our very own sound technician! The staff have all been hand picked, which might seem a bit wild when they are walking around dressed up in dressing gowns with a beer in one hand, but this is the Grandio uniform, wear whatever makes you feel comfortable, or we got from the euro store that day. If you think you can challenge us, we'll probably rise to it, if not, we'll respect you for trying! The place itself is as wild as our staff and guests, decorated by street artists from around the world it houses a games room with table football and ping pong, the bar, a secret restaurant, which we could tell you about, but we'd have to kill you, a mix of rooms, some en-suite, with varying numbers of beds, and if you're lucky, a loo with a view. If you're not too hung over during the day we can organise daytime activities for you. The staff at Grandio are able to organise tours of the city plus other daytime activities such as paint balling or laser-tag. So the arty amongst you might appreciate the fact that all of our rooms, the outside and insides of everything are decorated by the best street artists of Budapest, and have been added to by global artists who liked what they saw and wanted to add to it. We have a band, called The Grandio Journals, which changes members every week when we practice in the open mic night, and we welcome all talent to perform here. As well as that, we are in a great location, especially if you like drinking as we are in the heart of the bar district, the only rules we have are about respect to our guests and neighbours, and other than that we want you to have a wild time, because we will be first! Please note, like the name says, this IS a party hostel, we go out every night, some people drink in the day time, there is a bar, sometimes sex, and a lot of fun. If you don't like these things, please try a calmer hostel, like Carpe Noctem Vitae. Please note: Regrettably, due to previous experience, we can no longer accept bookings for people over 40. If you have booked and are outside this age, please contact us and we will help find you alternative accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Grandio Party Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing