We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better!”
Review of K9 Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K9 Residence
Ranked #11 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We only wanted a room overnight before flying home to UK so didn't expect too much from K9. What we actually got was absolute excellence! The apartment was immaculate, relaxing and beautifully furnished. Very comfortable bed,lovely warm, air-conditioned room and basic, but adequate, facilities for preparing own food and drinks.
The staff spoke impeccable English and accommodated us in every way possible, providing us with discount vouchers for excellent local cafes/bistros etc. and storage for our luggage after vacating the rooms.
The apartments are located centrally with easy walking access to the markets, the river and all the famous sites.
Sadly it was just an overnight stay but I could easily have stayed much longer!

Room Tip: Just go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 652 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just came home from my visit to Budapest and stayed at this apartment, one of the best places I've stayed at abroad! The apartment is right on the city's doorstep, minutes walk from the metro, cafe's, shops and restaurants! The apartment is very modern and spacious, very cheap (we paid £45 for 3 nights) no one ever bothered us and the reception people are very friendly! I read one review that a traveler got lost and could not find the apartment, the apartment sign is pretty clear on the building outside.

The apartment itself is very modern, the kitchen has a microwave, electric stove and enough cooking utensils, fridge, glasses, plates etc (it is very cheap to eat out instead of buying your food and cooking it in the apartment). They also provide towels and toilet rolls for the bathroom to which you can ask for more if necessary. The wardrobe has a safe, clothing hangers, places to stack your clothes, ironing board and heater and also a hair dryer.

I cannot think of a negative thing to say about this apartment other than it is situated on the main road so you can be woken up at 6.30am by the sound of traffic, however we got used to it and had a good night sleep.

If you are thinking of ever coming to Budapest, I recommend this apartment, in addition booking your transfer with http://www.airportshuttle.hu/en/ - they are hassle free, very cheap and take you right to the apartment doorstep! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was housed at the K9 Residence by Prezi for a conference I was speaking at so I didn't have much choice in the location. However, I read on TripAdvisor what to expect and it met what I read. The lobby is really not how to judge K9 but by the friendliness of the staff and the condition of the rooms. The location is great, very close (3 minute walk) to Deák Ferenc Metro which is also where you can catch the 47/49 trams. They said "take our towels when you go to the baths and we'll replace them". We said in the lobby we'd like to replace them and when the elevator doors opened, somewhere was there to exchange them! That's service. Friday and Saturday nights can be a little noisy on the street but if you do as much walking as you should to explore this great city then it shouldn't bother you. Also, since I didn't pay for the room directly you'll have to go by other comments but guessing from what I see it's well worth it! Kitchenette, nice beds, clean rooms, great staff who are very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiritwalkerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were a group of 6 and traveled to Budapest in Dec'12. The apartment building is on the main road.. 2 minutes walk from the metro station... with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The apartment was clean with modern fittings. The kitchen had a microwave, electric stove and enough utensils and crockery. I don't know what is scenario during peak season because we went during off season but I got a good value for money with nicest possible location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitmegahit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the quality of the room and staff of K9 given the price we paid for our studio room. It was an amazing deal! The kitchen was lightly furnished but had everything we needed. There are plenty grocery stores on the block, and the metro is steps away if you need it. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. They don't provide regular cleaning but you can easily request new towels, toilet paper, etc. when you need it. I can see how the rooms can be noisy if you are facing the main street, but since we were visiting in winter we did not open the windows, and so long as they were shut the noise did not bother us.

Thank LilyABuck
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in K9 residence from 9 Dec to 13 Dec. The apartment offered more than what it has advertised, with modern facilities, well thought little touches like toiletries & soft linens, fast speed wifi and good heating system, which was well appreciated by us, coming from sunny Singapore. The staff spoke good English and were helpful. The best of all was the location. It was within walking distance of Christmas Market and the famous fashion street. The tram stop and metro station were just within 5 minutes of K9 and we took them to reach Hero's square, the famous Szechenyi bath and city park. The first stop of city tour bus 'hop on hop off' was also near by. In all, we had a memorable family bonding time in Budapest, thanks to K9 residence!

Room Tip: The money changer down the street to the right of K9 offered very good rates. The supermarket opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment by a friend in Budapest. When he wanted to collect the keys, they told the apartment would not be there (Karoly korut 9.), but farther from the city center because of "technical problems". The other apartment was in an old building near Octogon metro station at the back side of the building, we had to walk through on a dark corridor to reach. The guy at this apartment told about overbooking situation, not "technical problem".
And we did not like the apartment (it was old and had totally different style than K9), eventually we did not stay, we chose another option. So it was wasted time (for us and for my friend as well), wasted money and not the best start.

And I have seen now among the reviews it was not the first time.

Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanschrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#47 of 334 in Budapest
948 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#46 of 334 in Budapest
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 334 in Budapest
3,302 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#33 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K9 Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K9 Residence

Address: Karoly koerut 9, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $45 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — K9 Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
K9 Residence offers modern accommodation in the heart of Budapest with 24h Reception service. Our Studios and 2 Bedroom Apartments are fully equipped and all offer great views over the city. All our units are Air Conditioned and feature broad band wifi internet connection and secure safe boxes. As we are ideally based between Deak Ferenc square and Astoria square our location allows our guests to have excellent access to all means of public transportation or to explore the city easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K9 Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing